Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baseball Earns No. 6 Seed In American Championship, Draws Tulane In Opening Round

Jim Penders' Huskies are the six-seed in the upcoming conference tournament
May 16, 2015

Baseball Championship Central

Following the conclusion of the regular season across the American Athletic Conference, seeding has been set for the 2015 Baseball Championship at Bright House Field in Clearwater, Fla. The UConn baseball team finished sixth in the league standings and therfore earned the No. 6 seed in the upcoming tournament. The Huskies will meet third-seeded Tulane on May 20 at 3 p.m.

The American Championship returns to a double-elimination format this season after the 2014 tournament used a pool play system. UConn went 1-2 in pool play in the 2014 Championship, falling to UCF and Temple and defeating Houston in opening round action. The last time it played in a double-elimination style conference tournament, UConn made a run from eight-seed to the title in the 2013 Big East Championship.

The Huskies finished the regular season with an 11-13 mark in league play in their second year of the American Athletic Conference. The Green Wave swept a doubleheader with Memphis earlier today to improve to 13-11 in the league, tied with USF for third in the conference standings. Tulane earns the three-seed by virtue of a series victory over USF earlier this year.

UConn took two of three at Tulane earlier this season, winning 6-0 on March 27 and 5-3 on March 29 while the Green Wave won 5-1 on March 28. The three meetings in New Orleans were the first all-time between the two programs.

The American Championship kicks off on May 19 with two games on CBS Sports Network to begin tournament action. The title game is set for May 24 and will be aired live on ESPNU and all other contests can be seen on The American Digital Network. For a full tournament schedule, click HERE.

2015 American Athletic Conference Baseball Championship Seeding



  1. Houston
  2. East Carolina
  3. Tulane
  4. USF
  5. Memphis
  6. UConn
  7. UCF
  8. Cincinnati