UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM HOME SPORT HOME
    Official's Statement On Play At Beginning Of Overtime

    UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM
    UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM

    UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM

    Jan. 1, 2013

    "Based on rule five, section one, article three, when the official permits a team to go in the wrong direction, and then the error is discovered, all activity and time consumed shall count as though each team had gone in the proper direction. Play is then resumed with each team going in the proper direction.

    "The players went in the wrong direction (tonight). Because we allowed that to happen, the only thing that was wrong is there was a goaltend on the play. We should have scored the goaltend and give Connecticut two points for that.

    "You have no team control after that, because you have a shot, so now you go to the alternating possession arrow. Because there is no team control at that point and then Marquette gets the ball and you head them all in the right direction."

    Karl Hess BIG EAST Official