Skip to main content Skip to footer
Boatright Among Final 17 For Cousy Award

Ryan Boatright is a finalist for the Cousy Award.
Feb. 20, 2015

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UConn senior Ryan Boatright (Aurora, Ill.) has been named one of 17 finalists for the 2105 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, announced today by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor, now in its 12th year, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. The original watch list of 35 candidates was narrowed down to the below list of 16 by a national committee.

Boatright, the senior captain of the Huskies, currently leads the team and the American Athletic Conference in scoring and he also tops the Huskies in assists, steals, and minutes played. An All-Final Four selection last season as he helped UConn win the NCAA National Championship, Boatright has been a two-time AAC Player of the Week this year and has been named to the league’s Weekly Honor Roll nine times. He was selected the AAC Preseason Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s coaches.

UConn players have won two of the past four Cousy Awards, with All-Americans Kemba Walker winning in 2011 and Shabazz Napier in 2014.



“The 17 athletes on this list represent the most dedicated and skillful point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Mr. Cousy such a successful player and we are pleased to be recognizing them for their accomplishments as well as to thank College of Holy Cross for their sponsorship support.”

Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950, winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

The current list of 17 finalists will be narrowed down to five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will then be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee comprised of top college basketball personnel. The winner of the 2015 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles on April 10, 2015. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. (EST).

Besides Walker and Napier, previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A&M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2015 Bob Cousy Award, log onto

2015 Bob Cousy Award Candidates 


T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona

Tyrone Wallace, University of California, Berkeley

Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University

Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin, Green Bay

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University

Monte Morris, Iowa State University

Terry Rozier, University of Louisville

Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Kris Dunn, Providence College

Delon Wright, University of Utah

Nigel Williams-Goss, University of Washington

Juwan Staten, West Virginia University

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University

Tyus Jones, Duke University

Kyle Collinsworth, BYU