Calhoun, Thabeet Named District I Coach and Player of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association



    STORRS, Conn. (March 10, 2009) – For the second-straight season, the University of Connecticut men’s basketball team has received top honors form the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) with junior Hasheem Thabeet (Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania) receiving the District I Player of the Year award and head coach Jim Calhoun being named the District I Coach of the Year for the second-consecutive season.

    Seniors Jeff Adrien (Brookline, Mass.) and A.J. Price (Amityville, N.Y.) earned spots on the All-District team, joining Thabeet. With three players selected to the all-district team, Connecticut had the most players honored.

    Both Adrien and Price were selected to the all-district team last year while Price was named the Player of the Year a season ago.

    Formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and the ten district teams, please contact executive director Joe Mitch (314-421-0339).

    For a complete list of the 2008-09 district recipients, please visit the .