Skip to main content Skip to footer
The American Announces 2016-17 Men's Basketball Pairings

Kevin Ollie and the Huskies will play 18 regular season conference games in 2016-17
June 7, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – After claiming the 2015-16 American Athletic Conference tournament crown in March, the UConn men’s basketball team will play an 18-game conference schedule, as announced by the league on Tuesday.

The Huskies will play home-and-home series against Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, UCF, USF, SMU and Temple for 16 league games. UConn will travel to Tulsa and entertain Tulane at home to complete the conference schedule. Dates and times of all league games will be announced at a later date.

Earlier in 2016, the conference announced that the 2016-17 tournament will return to the XL Center in Hartford, Conn. on March 9-12, 2017. The 2017 American Men's Basketball Championship includes all 11 teams and will be seeded 1-11. The tournament begins Thursday, March 9 with matchups between the No. 9 and No. 8 seeds, No. 10 and No. 7 seeds and No. 11 and No. 6 seeds. The winners will advance to meet the first, second and third seeds, respectively, on Friday. Also playing on Friday will be the No. 5 and No. 4 seeds. The top five seeds in the championship will receive byes into Friday's quarterfinal round. The entire American Men’s Basketball Championship will be available across ESPN’s national outlets.

In 2015-16, UConn earned an automatic berth in NCAA tournament after winning the 2016 American Athletic Conference championship on March 13 in Orlando, Fla. After a four-OT thriller over Cincinnati, Connecticut topped Temple in the semifinals before downing Memphis, 72-58, to claim its first American crown.



To keep up with the Huskies during the offseason, follow @UConnMBB on Twitter.