Men's Basketball Releases 2016-17 Schedule

The Huskies open conference play against Houston on Dec. 28 at the XL Center.
Sept. 8, 2016

2016-17 Full Schedule (PDF) | Online Schedule

STORRS, Conn
. --- The 2016-17 American Athletic Conference schedule for the UConn men’s basketball team will begin at home on Dec. 28 against Houston and end at home on March 5 against Cincinnati, according to the full 30-game regular-season slate released by the school on Thursday. The Huskies will play 14 home games, 12 road games, and four neutral site games.

All of UConn’s games will be televised, with two games set for the CBS Network, 14 games on the ESPN family of networks, five games on SNY, seven games on CBS Sports Network, and one on the Big Ten Network. The TV outlet for the UConn game at Georgetown on Jan. 14 is still to be announced.

Also released Thursday were the home venues for the Huskies’ games, which feature an even split of eight games each at Gampel Pavilion in Storrs and the XL Center in Hartford, which includes a preseason exhibition game at each site. Following the regular season, the American Athletic Conference Championship, which UConn won last season in Orlando, will be contested at the XL Center.

The UConn season will begin with an exhibition game against Division II New Haven at the XL Center on Sunday, Oct. 30, with a second exhibition game on Saturday, Nov. 5, against Division II Southern Connecticut State University at Gampel Pavilion. Game times are still to be announced.


 

 

As previously released, UConn’s non-conference schedule opens with two home games, on Friday, Nov. 11, and Monday, Nov. 14, against Wagner and Northeastern, respectively, both at Gampel.

The Huskies then hit the road, playing at Loyola Marymount in Los Angeles on Thursday, Nov. 30, on their way to Hawaii to compete in the Maui Jim Maui Invitational on Nov. 21-23.

UConn makes its regular-season XL Center debut on Wednesday, Nov. 30, playing host to Boston University, then will head for New York City to meet longtime foe Syracuse on Monday, Dec. 5, at Madison Square Garden and continue on the road with a game at Ohio State in Columbus on Dec. 10.

Three consecutive home games follow. The first two are non-conference --- against North Florida on Sunday, Dec. 18, at Gampel and against Auburn on Friday, Dec. 23, at the XL Center. The third straight home game is the opener of UConn’s 18-game AAC schedule against Houston on Wednesday, Dec. 28, at the XL Center.

UConn’s league schedule continues on Saturday, Dec. 31, as the Huskies spend New Year’s Eve at Tulsa. Another road game follows, with UConn at Memphis on Thursday, Jan. 5. Then the Huskies play UCF (Sunday, Jan. 8) at the XL Center and Temple (Wednesday, Jan. 11) at Gampel. The final non-conference game of the regular-season is at Georgetown on Saturday, Jan. 14.

UConn travels to Dallas to meet SMU on Thursday, Jan. 19, and returns to the XL Center to entertain East Carolina on Sunday, Jan, 22. The Huskies finish the month at USF on Wednesday, Jan. 25, and home at Gampel Pavilion on Saturday, Jan. 28, against Tulane.

UConn begins February at Cincinnati on Saturday, Feb. 4, and is back at Gampel Pavilion on Wednesday, Feb. 8, to face USF. The Huskies continue the away-home pattern with a game at UCF on Saturday, Feb. 11, and a return to the XL Center on Thursday, Feb. 16, to play Memphis.

After two straight away games, at Temple (Sunday, Feb. 19) and at Houston (Wednesday, Feb. 22), the Huskies finish February by hosting SMU at the XL Center on Saturday, Feb. 25.

The final two games of UConn’s regular season take place at East Carolina on Wednesday, March 1, and at Gampel Pavilion on Sunday, March 5 against Cincinnati.

The AAC Championship is set for March 9-12 at the XL Center.