Skip to main content Skip to footer
Larrier On Watch List For Erving Award

Terry Larrier is on the Erving Award watch list.
Oct. 19, 2016

SPRINGFIELD. Mass. – UConn redshirt sophomore Terry Larrier (Bronx, N.Y.) has been named as one of 20 watch list members for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, announced on Wednesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named after Hall of Famer and 11-time NBA All-Star Julius Erving, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“Julius Erving is unquestionably one of the most respected and gifted athletes to ever play the game of basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “Before he was the professional super star known as Dr. J, he was an outstanding small forward at UMass. The young men on this watch list have shown glimpses of Mr. Erving’s skillset and we look forward to watching them develop this season.”

Larrier, a versatile 6-8 forward, figures to play both on the perimeter and inside for the Huskies this season after sitting out last year as a transfer from Virginia Commonwealth. As a freshman at VCU in 2014-15, he played in 36 games, averaging 6.6 points and 3.0 rebounds. He was a Top 50 recruit coming out of The Phelps School (Malvern, Pa.).

Erving attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game. After two seasons, Erving made the jump the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four most valuable player awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.



“I’m excited to be a part of this process as we set out to identify the top small forward in the college game this year,” said Erving, a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “These student-athletes have worked tirelessly to earn their places on this elite watch list and I know they will continue to improve throughout the season. It’s anyone’s award to be earned.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015). For more information on the 2017 Julius Erving Award, log onto

2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates 

Evan Bradds


Kelan Martin


Jaron Blossomgame


Terry Larrier


Jayson Tatum


Dwayne Bacon

Florida St.

OG Anunoby


Deng Adel


Justin Jackson

North Carolina

VJ Beachem

Notre Dame

Jae'Sean Tate

Ohio St.

Dillon Brooks


Tres Tinkle

Oregon St.

Vince Edwards


Dikembe Dixson

University of Illinois at Chicago

Kevin Hervey

UT Arlington

Jalen Moore

Utah St.

Josh Hart


Markis McDuffie

Wichita St.

Trevon Bluiett


    *Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season*