Napier On Watch List For Cousy Award

    Senior Shabazz Napier is on the watch list for the Bob Cousy Award.

    Senior Shabazz Napier is on the watch list for the Bob Cousy Award.

    Oct. 22, 2013

    SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - UConn senior guard Shabazz Napier (Roxbury, Mass.) has been named to the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, announced Tuesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

    The Cousy Award, named for the legendary Hall of Famer and Boston Celtics icon, recognizes the top point guard in college basketball. The list, which includes 45 of the top point guards in the college game, was created by a committee of media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country. 

    UConn’s Kemba Walker won the Cousy Award in 2010-11. 

    “The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be a part of this award.” 

    “The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court.” 

    This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 announcement and press conference. 



    For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com

    Bob Cousy Award 2014 Watch List 

    Player                          School

    Trevor Releford               University of Alabama

    TJ McConnell                 University of Arizona

    Jahii Carson                  Arizona State University

    Derrick Marks                Boise State University

    Walt Lemon, Jr.             Bradley University

    Justin Cobbs                 University of California

    Kyle Anderson               UCLA

    Billy Baron                    Canisus University

    Spencer Dinwiddie         University of Colorado

    Shabazz Napier           University of Connecticut

    Quinn Cook                   Duke University

    Brett Comer                   Florida Gulf Coast University

    Kasey Hill                     University of Florida

    Devon Bookert               Florida State University

    Markel Starks                Georgetown University

    Kevin Pangos                Gonzaga University

    Siyani Chambers           Harvard University

    Brandyn Curry               Harvard University

    Yogi Ferrell                    Indiana University

    Jake Odum                    Indiana State University

    DeAndre Kane               Iowa State University

    Andrew Harrison            University of Kentucky

    Elfrid Payton                  Lafayette University

    Jason Brickman             Long Island University

    Anthony Ireland Loyola Marymount University

    Chris Jones                   University of Louisville

    Chaz Williams               University of Massachusetts

    Michael Dixon                University of Memphis

    Joe Jackson                  University of Memphis

    Keith Appling                 Michigan State University

    Jordan Clarkson             University of Missouri

    Kendall Williams            University of New Mexico

    Marcus Paige                University of North Carolina

    Eric Atkins                    University of Notre Dame

    Aaron Craft                    Ohio State University

    Marcus Smart                Oklahoma State University

    Dominic Artis                 University of Oregon

    Tim Frazier                    Penn State University

    Kris Dunn                      Providence College

    Tyler Ennis                    Syracuse University

    Preston Medlin              Utah State University

    Ryan Arcidiacono           Villanova University

    Nigel Williams-Goss       University of Washington

    Semaj Christon              Xavier University

    Kendrick Perry               Youngstown St. University


    *This list is fluid – players can play their way onto and off of the Watch List and

    the Final 20.