Skip to main content Skip to footer
Napier Candidate For Senior CLASS Award

Shabazz Napier has been nominated for the Senior CLASS Award.

Oct. 30, 2013

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. - UConn senior guard Shabazz Napier (Roxbury, Mass.) is one of 30 men's basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court and were selected as candidates today for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release. 

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.  

Napier, a two-time captain of the Huskies, was named to the All-Big East First Team last season after leading UConn in scoring, assists, steals, and three-point shooting percentage. He was the USBWA District I Player of the Year and an NABC District 5 First Team selection. He is also a candidate for the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. 

In addition, the sociology major has been named to UConn's Dean's List and received the UConn Athletic Director's High Five Award for academic excellence. He has participated in a number of holiday food drives to provide meals for the needy and donated his time at basketball clinics at handicapped schools around the UConn community. 

Of the 60 candidates for the CLASS Awards, which also include 30 women student-athletes including UConn senior Stefanie Dolson, 20 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are eight CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and seven returning All-Americans. Twenty-four of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well. 



The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men's Final Four® and NCAA Women's Final Four®. 

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.  

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Men's Basketball Candidates

Travis Bader, Oakland

Joe Jackson, Memphis

Jerrelle Benimon, Towson

Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley

Kyle Boswell, UC Santa Barbara

J.J. Mann, Belmont

Allan Chaney, High Point

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Sean McGonagill, Brown

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State

Travis McKie, Wake Forest

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Jordan McRae, Tennessee

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Chris Eversley, Cal Poly

Dennis Ogbe, Tennessee Tech

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State

Tim Frazier, Penn State

Dwight Powell, Stanford

Jakob Gollon, Mercer

Augustine Rubit, South Alabama

Joe Harris, Virginia

Russ Smith, Louisville

Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley

Chris Udofia, Denver

Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount

Patric Young, Florida

Women's Basketball Candidates

Gennifer Brandon, California

Amanda Hyde, IPFW

Heather Butler, Tennessee-Martin

Maggie Lucas, Penn State

Alyssa Charlston, Idaho

Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop

Hallie Christofferson, Iowa State

Sarah Nelson, Creighton

Jerica Coley, Florida International

Eilise O'Connor, Missouri-Kansas City

Allyson DiMagno, Cornell

Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford

Alexis Dobbs, American

Haley Peters, Duke

Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut

Theresa Plaisance, LSU

Jamierra Faulkner, Southern Mississippi

Michelle Plouffe, Utah

Ataira Franklin, Virginia

Odyssey Sims, Baylor

Chelsea Gray, Duke

Alex Smith, Holy Cross

Sarah Hansen, Florida Gulf Coast

Kacie Sowell, Seattle

Cassie Harberts, Southern California

DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky

Jordan Hooper, Nebraska

Rachel Tecca, Akron

Natasha Howard, Florida State

Alli Wiliams, Saint Francis