Todman A Doak Walker Candidate

    UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM Jordan Todman is a canidate for the Doak Walker Award.
    Jordan Todman is a canidate for the Doak Walker Award.

    Aug. 26, 2010

    DALLAS - University of Connecticut junior running back Jordan Todman (North Dartmouth, Mass.) has been named as a candidate for the 2010 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back

    Todman was a Second Team All-BIG EAST performer in 2009 and the leading rusher on the Husky team in '09 with 1,188 yards. He became the 11th Husky to rush for 1,000 yards in a season and his mark is the fifth-highest in school history.

    Todman's 235 carries in 2009 is the sixth-highest in school history and his 14 rushing TDs is tied for fifth. He had five 100-yard rushing performances last season, including three of the last four games regular season games

    The PricewaterhouseCoopers SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on November 10, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 22.

    The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 29 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

    The recipient of the 2010 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, December 9. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on in February 2011.

    The award, in its 21th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

    The following is the complete list of candidates:

    Anthony Allen (Sr.), Georgia Tech

    Armando Allen (Sr.), Notre Dame

    Victor Anderson (Jr.), Louisville



    Jeremy Avery (Sr.), Boise State

    Baron Batch (Sr.), Texas Tech

    Donald Buckram (Sr.), UTEP

    John Clay (Jr.), Wisconsin

    Lennon Creer (Jr.), Louisiana Tech

    Jeff Demps (Jr.), Florida

    Noel Devine (Sr.), West Virginia

    Lance Dunbar (Jr.), UNT

    Darren Evans (Jr.), Virginia Tech

    Mario Fannin (Sr.), Auburn

    Jay Finley (Sr.), Baylor

    Frank Goodin (Sr.), Louisiana Monroe

    Cyrus Gray (Jr.), Texas A&M

    Montel Harris (Jr.), Boston College

    Dan Herron (Jr.), Ohio State

    Kendall Hunter (Sr.), Oklahoma State

    Mark Ingram (Jr.), Alabama

    Eugene Jarvis, (Sr.), Kent State

    Dennis Johnson (Jr.), Arkansas

    Mikel Leshoure (Jr.), Illinois

    Dion Lewis (So.), Pittsburgh

    MiQuale Lewis (Sr.), Ball State

    Derrick Locke (Sr.), Kentucky

    Christine Michael (So.), Texas A&M

    Alfred Morris (Jr.), Florida Atlantic

    Richard Murphy (Sr.), LSU

    Vince Murray (Sr.), Navy

    DeMarco Murray (Sr.), Oklahoma

    Bernard Pierce (So.), Temple

    Bilal Powell (Sr.), Louisville

    Alexander Robinson (Sr.), Iowa State

    Jacquizz Rodgers (Jr.), Oregon State

    Evan Royster (Sr.), Penn State

    Brandon Saine (Sr.), Ohio State

    Da'Rel Scott (Sr.), Maryland

    Chad Spann (Sr.), Northern Illinois

    Rodney Stewart (Jr.), Colorado

    Phillip Tanner (Sr.), Middle Tennessee

    Vai Taua (Sr.), Nevada

    Daniel Thomas (Sr.), Kansas State

    Jordan Todman (Jr.), Connecticut

    Matthew Tucker (So.), TCU

    Derrick Washington (Sr.), Missouri

    Ed Wesley (So.), TCU

    Eddie Wide (Sr.), Utah

    Ryan Williams (So.), Virginia Tech