Skip to main content Skip to footer
Fatukasi Nominated for 2017 Wuerffel Trophy

Oct. 19, 2017

STORRS, Conn. - UConn senior defensive lineman Foley Fatukasi has been named a 2017 Danny Wuerffel Trophy nominee, which is presented to the FBS football player who best displays exemplary community service with academic and athletic achievement. Fatukasi is part of the largest contingent of nominees in the 13-year history of the award with 104 FBS players in consideration for the honor.

The Far Rockaway, N.Y. native has been a four-year starter on the UConn defensive line. The redshirt senior has racked up 140 career tackles, 10 sacks, 14 tackles for loss and forced four fumbles. This season Fatukasi has recorded 20 tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss and one sack.

In addition to his exploits on the field, Fatukasi is involved in Collective Uplift, an organization that provides educational and developmental opportunities for individuals across ethnic groups beyond traditional schooling and athletic contexts. Fatukasi is an Executive Leadership Board member and recently spoke as a panelist on the topic of "Sports and Politics," a discussion that focused on athlete activism.

Semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 2 with finalists being determined on Nov. 22. The recipient of the Wuerffel Trophy will formally be announced on Dec. 5 at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City.




Past Winners of the Wuerffel Award

2016: Trevor Knight, Texas A&M University

2015: Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma

2014: Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi

2013: Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma

2012: Matt Barkley, University of Southern California

2011: Barrett Jones, University of Alabama

2010: Sam Acho, University of Texas

2009: Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University

2008: Tim Tebow, University of Florida

2007: Paul Smith, University of Tulsa

2006: Joel Penton, Ohio State University

2005: Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University