Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Team Holds Annual Awards Ceremony

Senior Dave Teggart was the Special Team Player of the Year.

Dec. 12, 2011

STORRS, Conn. - The University of Connecticut football team held its annual awards ceremony Sunday evening when the team had a dinner at The Burton Family Football Complex, honoring 10 student-athletes for their accomplishments this season.

Senior defensive tackle Kendall Reyes (Nashua, N.H.) was named the Team Most Valuable Player and the Defensive Player of the Year. Reyes was a First Team All-BIG EAST Conference pick for the second time in a row this season. He started 42 games during his UConn career and was third on the UConn team with 13.5 tackles for loss while making 46 total tackles in 2011. For his career, he had 31.5 tackles for a loss - tenth in school history.

Freshman tailback Lyle McCombs (Staten Island, N.Y.) was named the Offensive Player of the Year. McCombs rushed for 1,115 yards this season - the ninth-highest in school single-season history and the second among freshmen at UConn. He was a Second Team All-BIG EAST Conference selection.

Senior kicker Dave Teggart (Northborough, Mass.) was the Special Teams Player of the Year. He was also a First Team All-BIG EAST pick. Teggart was a four-year standout and holds the UConn career records for field goals (74), extra points (128) and points (349). Teggart kicked a field goal in 22 of his final 25 collegiate games and had multiple field goals in eight games this year and had 11 career games with three or more field goals.

Redshirt senior wide receiver Kashif Moore (Burlington, N.J.) was honored with the Jasper T. Howard - Play-Every-Play Award, which is presented to a strong team player who best exemplifies a "battle-to-the-end" spirit during every game through every play. Moore wore Howard's No. 6 this season in honor of the Husky player who was murdered in the fall of 2009. Moore was a four-year starter for the Huskies and was second on the team in receiving in 2011 and first in TD receptions with five.



The Brian Kozlowski Award was given to redshirt senior defensive tackle Twyon Martin (Parkland, Fla.) This award is designated for a courageous, hard working and productive person. The award is named for the former Husky tight end, later a 13-year NFL veteran, who through relentless hard work, effort and dedication was able to have a lengthy NFL career. Martin was a four-year starter for the Huskies and had a total of 43 career starts and 26.5 career tackles for a loss.

Junior defensive end Trevardo Williams (Bridgeport, Conn.) was given the Kendall Madison Award which is presented to a strong team player whose dedication, hard work, positive attitude and outstanding citizenship best exemplifies the proud spirit of the UConn Huskies. The award is named for the former Husky who was tragically killed in the mid 1990s while being a good Samaritan in his attempt to break up an altercation. Williams was a Second Team All-BIG EAST Conference pick and led UConn with 13.5 sacks - a UConn single-season record. Williams came on strong at the end of the season as he made nine of his sacks in the final five games of the year.

The Football Alumni Award, which is given to a player who has demonstrated leadership and dedication and is the ultimate team player, was presented to redshirt junior linebacker Jory Johnson (Mobile, Ala.). Johnson led UConn in tackles this season with 97 and also had seven tackles for a loss and two interceptions.

The John L. Toner Scholar-Athlete Award was given to redshirt senior safety Harris Agbor (Mesquite, Texas). This award was designed to honor a senior member of the football program who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance and citizenship while making a significant contribution to the overall success of the team. Selected by the Football CPIA Staff, the award is named after the former UConn athletic director and football coach and NCAA President. Agbor, a finance and political science major, has a 3.452 GPA. He started in 13 games over his UConn career.

The 2011 Joseph M. Giannelli Unsung Hero Award went to redshirt junior quarterback Johnny McEntee (Fullerton, Calif.). McEntee, a walk-on, started all 12 games for UConn this year after having virtually no collegiate playing experience. McEntee was 172 of 335 in the air in 2011 for 2,110 yards with 12 TDs and eight interceptions.