Skip to main content Skip to footer
Football Hands Out Team Awards

Dec. 12, 2017

STORRS, Conn. – The UConn football team announced their annual team awards on Sunday. Junior Joseph represented the Huskies as the team’s Most Valuable Player.

Joseph (Sinking Springs, Pa.) posted career highs in numerous categories to close out his UConn career. The linebacker recorded a team-leading 91 total tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, four sacks and three passes defended. His pass breakup, as time expired, against Tulsa helped secure a 20-14 win at Pratt and Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field.

Joseph played in 48 games in his UConn career and was named as an All-Conference honorable mention twice (2015, 2017). He finishes his career with 306 tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss, four sacks and one interception.

Redshirt senior Bryant Shirreffs was named the Offensive Player of the Year while defensive lineman Cole Ormsby received Defensive Player of the Year Honors. Redshirt sophomore Michael Tarbutt earned Special Team Player of the Year.



Shirreffs garners Offensive Player of the Year honors after throwing for 2,287 yards and 14 touchdowns. The Jefferson, Ga. native recorded a 153.6 passing efficiency, ranking second all-time in UConn single-season history.

The quarterback ends his career finishing in the top-10 in UConn history in total yards (7,404, 4th), completions (505, 4th), passing yards (6375, 4th), touchdown passes (30, 6th) and passing efficiency (134.0, 2nd).

Ormsby (Windsor, Conn.) earns Defensive Player of the Year status after leading the Huskies with seven sacks in 2017. The defensive lineman notched 22 tackles and forced two fumbles in 12 starts for the Huskies. Overall, Ormsby played in 42 contests at UConn and accumulated 78 tackles, 16 sacks and 23 career tackles for loss. Earlier this month, Ormsby was named to the All-New England Division 1 FBS/FCS team.

Tarbutt wrapped up the season hitting 12 field goals on 18 attempts and converted 27 of 29 extra point attempts. The Huskies kicker drilled a career-long 53-yard field goal at Cincinnati to close out the season.

Offensive lineman Steve Hashemi took home the John L. Toner Scholar Athlete Award, recognizing a senior member of the program that has demonstrated outstanding academic performance and citizenship while making a significant contribution to the overall success of the team.

The Joseph M. Giannelli Unsung Hero Award was presented to tight end Alec Bloom while linebacker Chris Britton received the Kendall Madison Award.

Running back Arkeel Newsome received the Brian Kozlowski Award, presented to the player that is the most courageous, hardworking and productive player on the team.

Defensive lineman Luke Carrezola was honored with the Football Alumni Award, given to the senior who has demonstrated and been recognized as the ultimate “team player.”

The final award, Jasper T. Howard “Play-Every-Play” Award, was given to running back Jason Thompson for best exemplifying a “Battle-To-The-End” spirit during every game, through every play, as Jasper Howard did during his time at UConn.