Skip to main content Skip to footer
American Athletic Conference Football Schedule Rotation Announced

The American Athletic Conference will begin a two-division format in 2015
Dec. 18, 2014

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (Dec. 18, 2014) – The American Athletic Conference announced the schedule format for the 2015-18 American Athletic Conference football seasons on Thursday.

The 2015 season will be the first in The American’s new 12-team, two-division format. The American Athletic Conference East Division will include UConn, UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, USF and Temple. The West Division will consist of Houston, Memphis, Navy, SMU, Tulane and Tulsa.

The conference schedule will include 48 regular-season games that will have each of the 12 teams in The American playing eight league contests annually. Each team will face the other five teams in its own division, as well as three teams from the other division, ensuring that each school will play every conference opponent at home and on the road at least once in the four-year cycle.

The East and West division winners, determined by final conference record, will meet in the first American Athletic Conference Football Championship Game, which will be played at the home site of one of the division winners.

UConn’s 2015 home games in the conference will be against East Carolina, Houston, Navy and USF and the away games are UCF, Cincinnati, Temple and Tulane. The Huskies will not face Memphis, SMU or Tulsa. Dates of the games will be announced in early 2015.

The Huskies’ non-conference games for 2015 are Villanova (Sept. 3), Army (Sept. 12), at Missouri (Sept. 19) and at BYU (Oct. 2).
The American Athletic Conference has enjoyed widespread success since its inaugural season in 2013. The conference produced two 12-win teams in 2013, including UCF, which won the Fiesta Bowl, and saw UCF, Cincinnati and Memphis tie for the conference title in 2014. Five American Athletic Conference teams – UCF, Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston and Memphis – will play in the 2014 postseason. Navy, which joins The American in football in 2015, also will play in a bowl game this season.

The following is UConn’s rotation of conference games from 2015-2018:

Home: East Carolina, Houston, Navy, USF
Away: UCF, Cincinnati, Temple, Tulane
Does Not Play: Memphis, SMU, Tulsa

Home: UCF, Cincinnati, Temple, Tulane
Away: East Carolina, Houston, Navy, USF
Does Not Play: Memphis, SMU, Tulsa

Home: East Carolina, Memphis, USF, Tulsa
Away: UCF, Cincinnati, SMU, Temple
Does Not Play: Houston, Navy, Tulane

Home: UCF, Cincinnati, SMU, Temple
Away: East Carolina, Memphis, USF, Tulsa
Does Not Play: Houston, Navy, Tulane

The following is UConn’s future non-conference schedule of games under contract:

2015: September 3, Villanova; September 12, Army; September 19, at Missouri; October 2, at BYU

2016: September 3, Maine; September 10, at UMass (Gillette Stadium), September 17, Virginia

2017: September 2, UMass, September 9, Holy Cross; September 16, at Virginia; September 23, Missouri

2018: September 8, at Boise State

2019: September 7, Illinois; September 21, at Indiana

2020: September 12, at Illinois; September 26, Indiana

UConn and Tennessee have a two-game home-and-home series under contract with dates to be determined.