Skip to main content Skip to footer
Dietrich, Hervol Named To AAC All-Conference Golf Team

Jimmy Hervol led the Huskies in scoring per round in 2016-17.
May 5, 2017

PROVIDENCE – UConn senior Eric Dietrich (Cheshire, Conn.) and sophomore Jimmy Hervol (Hopkinton, Mass.) have been named to the 2017 American Athletic Conference Men’s Golf All-Conference Team, announced by the league on Friday afternoon.

It is the second such honor for Dietrich, who was also named to the 2016 All-Conference Team, while Hervol is an all-conference selection for the first time.

UConn was one of four American teams to have multiple picks on the 13-man all-conference team. UCF and USF each placed three golfers on the team, while UConn and Houston each had two, and Cincinnati, East Carolina, and SMU each had one.

Hervol and Dietrich were the top two scorers for UConn, averaging 72.1 and 72.5 strokes per round respectively, to lead the Huskies to three tournament titles and eight Top 5 finishes in 11 events this year.

Hervol, the AAC Golfer of the Month for September, won medalist honors at the Doc Gimmler Invitational, one of seven Top 10 and eight Top 20 finishes this season. He shot par or better in 16 rounds this year, including twice firing a season-low round of 65, and had seven sub-70 rounds. Hervol was named to the 2015-16 AAC All-Academic Team and is likely to achieve the same honor this season.

Dietrich also had a first-place finish this season, at the Lafayette Invitational, reaching a three-way playoff for medalist honors. He had six Top 10 and seven Top 20 finishes this year, shot par or better in 12 rounds, and twice shot season-low rounds of 66. In addition to his two All-Conference selections, he was also named to the 2016 Division I PING All-Northeast Regional Team, the 2015-16 All-New England Team, and qualified for the 2016 U.S. Amateur Championship.



Other men’s golf awards announced by The American included Cincinnati’s Austin Squires as Player of the Year, UCF’s Bobby Bai as Freshman of the Year, and USF’s Steve Bradley as Coach of the Year.

AAC All-Conference Team

Eric Dietrich, UConn. Senior

Jimmy Hervol, UConn, Sophomore

Bobby Bai, UCF, Freshman

Manuel Elvira, UCF, Junior

*Donnie Trosper, UCF, Sophomore

*Austin Squires, Cincinnati, Sophomore

Tim Conover, East Carolina, Junior

Papito Gonzalez, Houston, Junior

Michael Perras, Houston, Junior

Rigel Fernandes, USF, Senior

*Cristian DiMarco, USF, Junior

Jimmy Jones, USF, Junior

Gray Townsend, SMU, Junior

* - unanimous selection


Player of the Year

Austin Squires, Cincinnati, Sophomore

Freshman of the Year

Bobby Bai, UCF

Coach of the Year

Steve Bradley, USF