Skip to main content Skip to footer
Zaback, Dietrich Earn New England Honors

Eric Dietrich was named to the All-Rookie Team.
Aug. 10, 2014

STORRS, Conn. - UConn rising junior Zach Zaback (Farmington, Conn.) and rising sophomore Eric Dietrich (Cheshire, Conn.) have been honored as part of the 2013-14 New England Division I Golf Awards Winners.

Zaback was one of only 10 players named to the All-New England Team. Zaback had an outstanding sophomore season for UConn, competing in 12 tournaments and averaging a team-leading 74.14 score per round for 35 rounds. He won The Connecticut Cup in October and had six top 10 finishes, and eight finishes in the top 25. Zaback shot par or better  in 13 rounds and had four rounds in the 60s, with a low round of 67.

Zaback has continued his outstanding play during the summer, winning the Connecticut Amateur Championship, finishing in a tie for 11th place in the Connecticut Open, and qualifying for the U.S. Amateur Championship, which will be played later this month.

Dietrich was one of six players named to the New England All-Rookie Team. He also competed in all 12 of UConn's events, finishing with an average of 76.94 per round. His best finish was 16th at The Connecticut Cup.

The 2013-14 New England Division I Golf Awards Winners

Coach of the Year: Pete Stankevich, Hartford

Team of the Year: Hartford University

Player of the Year: Evan Russell, Hartford

Rookie of the Year: Robert Deng, Harvard


All-New England Team

Peter Ballo, Sacred Heart

Sam Bernstein, Yale

Will Davenport, Yale

Sean Gaudette, Yale

Nelson Hargrove, Brown

Joe Leavitt, Rhode Island

Akash Mirchandani, Harvard

Evan Russell, Hartford

Joe Willis, Yale

Zach Zaback, Connecticut




All-Rookie Team

Robert Deng, Harvard

Eric Dietrich, Connecticut

Jonathan Lai, Yale

Jeff Lang, Dartmouth

Ryan Tombs, Bryant

Billy Walthouse, Rhode Island