Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Golf Trio Named All-New England

Jimmy Hervol was named All-New England.
Aug. 28, 2017

KINGSTON, R.I. – Three members of the 2016-17 UConn golf team --- Eric Dietrich, Jimmy Hervol and Nabeel Khan --- have been named to the 2017 Division I All-New England Team by a vote of the New England Division I head coaches.

The three helped the Huskies produce an outstanding season in 2016-17, including three tournament victories and eight Top Five finishes in 11 events.

It is the second consecutive All-New England honor for Dietrich (Cheshire, Conn.), last season’s co-captain who graduated in May after an outstanding four-year career at UConn. In 2016-17, Dietrich had six Top 10 finishes, including a tie for first in the Lafayette Invitational. He averaged 72.5 per round for 31 rounds and shots 12 rounds of par or better, including two rounds of a season-best 66.

Hervol (Hopkinton, Mass.) and Khan (Westerville, Ohio) are juniors this season who will serve as co-captains of the 2017-18 Huskies.

Hervol led the team in scoring last season, averaging 72.1 strokes per round for 31 rounds. He won medalist honors at the season-opening Doc Gimmler Invitational at Bethpage State Park (Farmingdale, N.Y.), one of seven Top 10 finishes. He had 16 rounds of par or better, including two rounds of 65.

Khan had the low round of the Huskies’ season last year with a 64 at the Macdonald Cup in New Haven. He had three Top 10 finishes, including a season-best of fifth twice. He averaged 73.2 per round and shot par or better in 12 rounds. Following the UConn season, he won the PGA Minority Collegiate Golf Championship in Port St. Lucie, Fla.



UConn and Rhode Island each placed three players on the All-New England Team, while Boston College placed two, and Hartford and Bryant had one each.

2017 Division I All-New England Team  

Eric Dietrich, UConn

Jimmy Hervol, UConn

Nabeel Khan, UConn

Billy Walthouse, URI

Dawson Jones, URI

Chris Houston, URI

Matt Naumec, Boston College

Christian Cavaliere, Boston College

Ambrose Abbracciamento, Hartford

Ryan Tombs, Bryant

Player of the Year

Billy Walthouse, URI

Rookie of the Year

Christian Cavaliere, Boston College

Team of the Year


Coach of the Year

Gregg Burke, URI