Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Hosts 6th Annual Connecticut Cup At Ellington Ridge CC

Zach Zaback has won the Connecticut Cup in each of the last two years.
Oct. 12, 2014

ELLINGTON, Conn. --- Riding two consecutive Top Five finishes, the UConn men’s golf team will attempt to defend its Connecticut Cup championship as it plays host to 15 visiting teams Monday and Tuesday at the 2014 Connecticut Cup at Ellington Ridge Country Club.

It is the sixth consecutive year that Ellington Ridge, a 6,936-yard layout in north-central Connecticut, has been the site of the event. Last year, UConn captured the tournament title by eight strokes, led by then-sophomore Zach Zaback (Farmington, Conn.) who has won Connecticut Cup medalist honors in each of the last two years.

The Huskies enter the Connecticut Cup on the heels of a third-place finish at the Quechee Club Collegiate Challenge in Quechee, Vt., which followed a third-place finish at the Hartford Hawk Invitational at Bull’s Bridge Country Club in South Kent, Conn.

Besides junior Zaback, who has three Top 20 finishes this year, the Huskies will be led by senior Chris Wiatr (Woodbury, Conn.), who has posted back-to-back Top 5 finishes. Wiatr finished third at Quechee Club, including a four-under 68 in the final round, and he finished fifth at the Hawk Invitational. Two years ago, Wiatr finished in a second-place tie at the 2012 Connecticut Cup, behind only teammate Zaback.

Also playing for the Huskies in the Connecticut Cup will be junior John Flaherty (Glastonbury, Conn.), senior Dane Rosa (Mansfield, Conn.) and sophomore Eric Dietrich (Cheshire, Conn.).



In addition, UConn will field five players as individuals: senior Mike Masso (Suffield, Conn.), junior Cameron MacKay (Brookfield, Conn.), junior Corey Birch (Ridgefield, Conn.), senior Dan Myers (Ridgefield, Conn.), and freshman Sasha Wortelboer (Geneva, Switzerland).

The Connecticut Cup will feature 16 teams and 90 players. Other teams in the field include Hartford, which won the 2012 Connecticut Cup and finished second last year, as well as Adelphi, American International, Bryant, Central Connecticut, Colgate, Fairfield, Iona, LIU-Brooklyn, Post, Rider College, Saint Peter’s, Sacred Heart, Siena, and UMass-Lowell.

The tournament consists of two rounds on Monday and the third and final round on Tuesday.