Skip to main content Skip to footer

Bruce Marshall
Bruce  Marshall

Head Coach

Connecticut '85


Former UConn Men's Ice Hockey Coach Bruce Marshall Passes Away

Marshall was a former UConn student-athlete and hockey head coach.


Bruce Marshall Resigns As UConn Men's Hockey Head Coach

Marshall resigns after 25 years behind the UConn bench.


Ambrosie Leads UConn Past Merrimack, 3-1

Senior captain Sean Ambrosie notched a goal and an assist on Saturday night.


Bruce Marshall To Take Medical Leave of Absence

David Berard will assume Marshall's responsibilities during his absence.


UConn Men's Hockey To Face Air Force At XL Center In Double Header With The Connecticut Whale

The Huskies will face Air Force on November 24 at 3:30 p.m. at the XL Center in Hartford, Conn.

Bruce Marshall resigned on January 7, 2013 during his 25th season as the head coach of the UConn men's hockey program. Marshall finished as the winningest coach in UConn history with 339 victories. Marshall concluded his career at UConn with a record of 339-381-70.

Since becoming a Division I program in 1998, Marshall led his squads to a MAAC Championship (2000) and six semifinal berths (MAAC - 1999, 2000, 2002, AHA - 2011, 2007, 2006) in the post-season conference tournament. Under Marshall's direction, the Huskies advanced into the Atlantic Hockey postseason every year since the 2003-04 season.

Prior to the Huskies Division I status, Marshall's teams produced eight ECAC East tournament berths, four ECAC semifinals and one ECAC championship appearance.

During Marshall's tenure as head coach of UConn's ice hockey program, the Huskies produced seven All-Americans, 26 all-conference members, six Atlantic Hockey All-Rookie Team selections and a MAAC Defensive Rookie of the Year. In addition, UConn took home its first-ever major conference award as Tim Olsen was named the AHA Player of the Year in 2004.

Marshall started the 2012-13 season ranked 12th all-time among active NCAA coaches in Division I with 332 victories. Marshall celebrated a personal milestone in 2009-10 as he recorded his 300th career victory when the Huskies defeated Mercyhurst, 3-2, in overtime on February 27, 2010.

Marshall coached his 500th career game on Jan. 22, 2005 at Yale and won his 250th game at UConn on December 8, 2005 at Sacred Heart. He hit the 200 career win mark during the 2000-2001 season when the Huskies defeated American International, 5-2, on Feb. 23, becoming the first hockey coach in UConn history to reach the 200 mark. Marshall became only the second hockey coach in UConn history to reach the 100 win plateau, joining John Chapman who coached Connecticut from 1960-81 and compiled a 196-221-7 record.

Marshall led the Huskies to the AHA Quarterfinals in 2011-12 falling on the road in three games to eventual champion Air Force. The Huskies finished the season at 16-19-4, tying the program record for the most wins since joining the AHA in 2003-04. The UConn special teams were sensational in 2011-12, leading the AHA and ranking third in the NCAA with a 25.7-percent conversion rate on the power play. The penalty kill was equally impressive, finishing the year ranked No. 14 in the NCAA at 84.2-percent.

After posting a 20-10-4 record in its first year as a Division I team in 1998-99, the 1999-2000 season added a 19-16-1 record. In UConn's second season as a Division I program in 2000, and as a member of MAAC, Marshall and the Huskies earned their first-ever conference championship in a 6-1 victory over Iona in the 2000 MAAC Championship game.

For his accomplishments as UConn's hockey coach, Marshall was recognized by his peers in earning several honors. He won the Edward Jeremiah College Division National Coach of the Year Award and was named the ECAC Coach of the Year at the conclusion of the 1991-92 season. In February of 1993, Marshall was named to the East squad coaching staff for the 1993 Shrine East-West College Hockey Classic. The staff consisted of one coach from Division I, II and III schools. It was the first honor of its kind to be bestowed upon a Connecticut hockey coach.

A 1985 Connecticut graduate, Marshall became only the third head coach in UConn ice hockey history when he took over prior to the 1988-89 season, replacing seven-year coach Ben Kirtland. Prior to Kirtland, John Chapman served as Connecticut head coach for 21 years.

Marshall was a four-year letterwinner in the UConn ice hockey program. He played in 94 career games, and as a senior, Marshall was co-captain of the 1984-85 squad that finished with a 14-10 record and became the first Connecticut ice hockey team to make the ECAC playoffs. He received his bachelor of science degree in physical education from Connecticut in May of 1985.

After graduation, Marshall served as assistant ice hockey coach at his alma mater for one season. He later directed the varsity hockey program at Worcester (Mass.) Academy for two years while employed in private industry.

Marshall spent several years as a key contributor to the New England District of USA Hockey. Marshall previously coached at the National level, assisting with the Select Teams at the USA Hockey Festival in St. Cloud, Minn. The Select Teams are part of the USA Hockey Olympic Development program. Also in St. Cloud, Marshall coached the USA Hockey Select 17's to a gold medal at the Festival in the summer of 2000.

Marshall served as Vice President of the American Hockey Coaches Association for three years in a term ending in 2006. He joined the AHCA in 2009 as Vice President for another three-year term. He has also served on its Board of Directors for the AHCA for seven years from 1999-2006. In 2008, Marshall also had the privilege of being chosen for the selection committee of the Hobey Baker Award.

Marshall, a native of West Boylston, Mass., resides in Storrs, Conn., with his wife Kathy and four children, Matthew (15), Mollie (13), Marisa (11) and Marikate (7).