Skip to main content Skip to footer
Schneider Named AHA First Team; Gerke Second Team

March 15, 2012

ROCHESTER, N.Y. - It was announced tonight at the annual awards banquet during the Atlantic Hockey Semifinals in Rochester, N.Y. that UConn sophomore forward Cole Schneider has been named to the AHA First Team. Junior defenseman Alex Gerke earned a spot on the AHA Second Team.

Air Force senior defenseman Tim Kirby was named AHA Player of the Year. Bentley took home a trio of major awards as coach Ryan Soderquist was named league Coach of the Year while Alex Grieve took home Rookie of the Year honors and sophomore Brett Gensler finished as the AHA Regular Season Scoring Champion.

Schneider earned a spot on the AHA First Team a year after being tabbed an All-Rookie selection. UConn's leading scorer finished the season ranked tied for second in conference scoring with 30 points and tied for first in the conference with 16 goals.

Schneider most recently signed a professional contract with the Ottawa Senators and leaves the college hockey ranks after setting the UConn Division I points and goal-scoring records this past year with 23 goals and 22 assists for 45 points. After two seasons, Schneider recorded more points (78) than any sophomore in UConn Division I history. Connecticut became a Division I program in 1998.

As a freshman, Schneider set the UConn Division I freshman records with 33 points and 20 assists and was named to the Atlantic Hockey Association All-Rookie Team.

Alex Gerke was tabbed an AHA Second-Team selection after ranking second in the conference in defenseman scoring with 19 points in league play. Gerke notched five goals and 14 assists against AHA opposition in 2011-12.

Overall, Gerke finished the year with 25 points on six goals and 19 assists. Gerke was sensational on the power-play for the Huskies, registering five goals and nine assists for 14 points.



Atlantic Hockey First Team All-Conference
Kyle De Laurell	Forward	Air Force
Brett Gensler	Forward	Bentley
Cole Schneider	Forward	Connecticut
Tim Kirby	         Defenseman	Air Force
Scott Mathis	Defenseman	Air Force
Shane Madolora	Goaltender	RIT
Atlantic Hockey Second Team All-Conference
Michael Colavechia	Forward	RIT
John Kruse	Forward	Air Force
Adam Schmidt	Forward	Holy Cross
Alex Gerke	Defenseman	Connecticut
Chris Haltigin	Defenseman	RIT
Chris Noonan	Goaltender	Niagara
Atlantic Hockey Third Team All-Conference
Matt Gingera	Forward	Sacred Heart
Adam Pleskach	Forward	American International
Cody Crichton	Forward	Robert Morris
Trent Bonnett	Defenseman	Bentley
Nick Jones	Defenseman	Mercyhurst
Branden Komm	Goaltender	Bentley

Atlantic Hockey All-Rookie Team

Alex Grieve	Forward	Bentley
Dan Bahntge	Forward	Mercyhurst
Brett Switzer	Forward	Bentley
Tyson Wilson	Defenseman	Robert Morris
Tyler Shiplo	Defenseman	Mercyhurst
Matt Ginn	         Goaltender	Holy Cross
Regular Season Scoring Trophy

Brett Gensler Bentley

Regular Season Goaltending Trophy

Chris Noonan Niagara

Team Sportsmanship Award

Air Force

Individual Sportsmanship Award

Mark Cornacchia RIT

Best Defensive Forward

Nick Chiavetta Robert Morris

Best Defenseman

Tim Kirby Air Force

Coach of the Year

Ryan Soderquist Bentley

Rookie of the Year

Alex Grieve Bentley

Player of the Year

Tim Kirby Air Force