Skip to main content Skip to footer
Max Letunov Named a Hockey East Second Team All-Star

March 17, 2016

Full Hockey East All-Stars Release

STORRS, Conn. - UConn freshman Max Letunov (Moscow, Russia) was named to the Hockey East Second Team All-Stars as voted on by the league's 12 head coaches.  The league held its annual awards banquet Thursday night ahead of the 2016 Hockey East Championship being held this weekend at TD Garden in Boston.

Letunov becomes the first player in program history to earn Hockey East all-conference honors with his selection to the the second team.  He was joined on the second team by forwards Zach Aston-Reese of Northeastern, Anders Bjork of Notre Dame and Colin White of Boston College, defensemen Jordan Gross of Notre Dame and Ian McCoshen of BC and goaltender Kevin Boyle of UMass Lowell.  Earlier this week, Letunov was also named to the Hockey East All-Rookie team.

The first team all-stars was made up of Boston College goaltender Thatcher Demko, defensemen Matt Grzelcyk of Boston University and Jake Walman of Providence and forwards Ryan Fitzgerald of BC, Mark Jankowski of Providence, Danny O'Regan of BU and Andrew Poturlaski of New Hampshire. 

Letunov finished his rookie season with 40 points coming on 16 goals and 24 assists.  Letunov is tied for fifth among the top-scorers in Hockey East.  He ranks second in power play points with 22 on the year while his 19 power play assists leads the NCAA. 

The league also announced that Demko and Boyle were named Warrior Hockey East Co-Players of the Year.  BC's White was named the league's Rookie of the Year, beating out Letunov who was the runner-up for the award.  Providence Head Coach Nate Leaman was named the Bob Kullen  Award winner as Bauer Coach of the Year.

Boston College, Providence, UMass Lowell and Northeastern will take the ice Friday evening in the Hockey East semifinals.