Skip to main content Skip to footer
Ambrosie, Gerke, Harris and Latta Named 2012-13 Captains

Sean Ambrosie will captain the Huskies next year.

May 7, 2012

STORRS, Conn. - The UConn men's hockey team held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, May 5 at the Nathan Hale Inn and announced that current junior forward Sean Ambrosie (Moorhead, Minn.) will captain the team for a second season in 2012-13 and will be joined by junior Alex Gerke (Tomah, Wisc.). Sophomores Brant Harris (Estevan, Sask.) and Billy Latta (West Chester, Pa.) will serve as assistant captains.

Coach Bruce Marshall and his staff handed out several awards which saw team MVP presented to sophomore wing Cole Schneider (Williamsville, N.Y.), the Silver Bowl Award presented to senior forward Dan Naurato (Northville, Mich.), the Thomas J. Jacquard Award presented to freshman Brad Smith (Trenton, Mich.), Gerke was honored with the Coach john Chapman Award and freshman forward Ryan Tyson (Harleysville, Pa.) was presented with the Seventh Player Award.

Ambrosie will serve his second stint as captain in 2012-13. Ambrosie finished his junior campaign ranked fourth on the team with 27 points and second overall with 20 assists. The top center for the Huskies this past season, he anchored the nation's third-ranked power play and led all UConn players with 17 points on the man advantage.

Gerke had a breakout season as a junior, registering career highs with six goals, 19 assists and 25 points. He was eventually named to All-AHA Second Team after ranking second in the league in scoring by a defenseman. Gerke also was presented with the Coach John Chapman award. The award goes to the player that most exemplifies the type of player that the late Coach Chapman would have wanted on his team.



Harris and Latta finished second and third on the team in scoring with 33 and 28 points, respectively. Harris ranked second at UConn with 17 goals while Latta finished the season ranked fourth in the lineup with 18 assists. Harris' 33 point performance as a sophomore ranks tied for sixth all-time in a season in UConn Division I history.

Alex Gerke will serve as team captain as a senior.

Schneider took home the award for Most Valuable Player as voted by his teammates after breaking the UConn Division I single-season records for points (45) and goals (24). Schneider also set the UConn Division I record with 78 points by a sophomore in two seasons. Schneider found a spot on the AHA First Team and later signed a professional contract with the Ottawa Senators, starting his career in the AHL with the Binghamton Senators.

The Silver Bowl Award, presented annually by the coaching staff, was given to senior Dan Naurato. Naurato was off to a solid start to his senior season with six points on two goals and four assists in eight games before suffering a career-ending injury. Naurato maintained his positive attitude throughout the season, often serving as another coach for the Huskies and plans to serve as a volunteer coach at Connecticut in 2012-13.

The UConn Seventh Player Award was presented to freshman Ryan Tyson. The award is given to the player that demonstrated the most consistent effort on the ice. Tyson appeared in 36 of 39 games, notching four goals and two assists for six points.

Named after a former UConn freshman who was tragically killed in an automobile accident in the early 1990s, the Thomas Jacquard Award is given to a Husky rookie that demonstrates the same characteristics that Thomas Jacquard possessed. Freshman Brad Smith took home the prestigious honor this season. Smith was a work-horse throughout the second half of the season, eventually notching three points on a goal and two assists in 16 games played. Smith scored a memorable goal at Air Force in game one of the AHA Quarterfinals.

2011-12 Major Award Winners

2012-13 Captains - Sean Ambrosie ©, Alex Gerke ©, Brant Harris (A), Billy Latta (A)
MVP - Cole Schneider
Coach John Chapman Award - Alex Gerke
Thomas J. Jacquard Award - Brad Smith
Silver Bowl Award - Dan Naurato
Seventh Player Award - Ryan Tyson