Skip to main content Skip to footer
Twelve Huskies Named to Hockey East All-Academic Team

June 30, 2016

STORRS, Conn. - The UConn men's hockey team placed 12 student-athletes on the Hockey East All-Academic team for the 2015-16 season.  The Huskies finished their first season of play in Hockey East this past season.

Hockey East announced that 115 student-athletes were named to the league's 2015-16 All-Academic Team. Each student-athlete achieved a grade point average of 3.0 or better in each of the two academic periods during which he was actively competing.

Program gradutes Kyle Huson (Parker, Colo.) and Joey Ferriss (Novi, Mich.) lead the UConn contigent earning Hockey East honors for the second-straight season while claiming academic accolades all four years in Storrs.  Huson and Ferriss collected Atlantic Hockey All-Academic honors after their freshman and sophomore seasons as well.

Fellow gradutes Patrick Kirtland (Rocky Hill, Conn.) and Shawn Pauly (Bellingham, Wash.) were also named to this year's team.  For Pauly, it was his third-straight season garnering all-academic honors.

Picking up Hockey East honors for the second-straight season were rising juniors Johnny Austin (St. Louis Park, Minn.), Spencer Naas (Minnetonka, Minn.), Kasperi Ojantakanen (Helsinki, Finland), Steve Thulin (North Reading, Mass.) and Jeff Wight (Coquitlam, British Columbia).

Rising senior Joona Kunnas (Vantaa, Finland), rising junior Jesse Schwartz (Toronto, Ontario) and rising sophomore Karl El-Mir (Montreal, Quebec) were all first-time honorees on the HEA All-Academic squad.