Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Hockey in Hartford - It Starts Now.

Tickets Go On Sale July 9th

July 1, 2014

2014-15 UConn Hockey Schedule

STORRS, Conn. – The University of Connecticut men’s hockey program announced their 2014-15 schedule with season tickets for the Huskies inaugural season in Hockey East going on sale July 9th.  The Huskies will face seven teams who qualified for the 2014 NCAA Tournament this season including the defending national champion Union Dutchmen.

Season tickets for UConn’s 11 game home schedule at the XL Center in downtown Hartford will be priced at $165 for adults and $110 for youth (under 18).  Tickets go on sale Wednesday, July 9th at with a Priority Deadline of Monday, August 4th.  Priority seating will be given to athletics donors and fans that have placed a season ticket deposit, followed by all others who purchase season tickets before August 4th.  As an added benefit, all 2014-15 season ticket holders will be given the option to purchase the same seats for the 2015-16 season.

Season ticket information for students will be available during the fall semester.

As the newest and 12th member of Hockey East, UConn will play a 22-game conference schedule (11 home/11 away).  The Huskies will play their first-ever Hockey East game on Saturday, October 18th when they travel to Merrimack College in North Andover, Massachusetts. 

The Huskies play their 2014-15 home opener on Wednesday, November 5th when they host Boston College.  The Eagles have captured 13 Hockey East regular season titles in the 30-year history of the league.  UConn head coach Mike Cavanaugh spent 18 seasons as an assistant at BC where he helped lead the Eagles to four national titles (2001, 2008, 2010 and 2012).

In addition to Boston College, UConn will play host to fellow Hockey East members Boston University, Maine, UMass, UMass Lowell, Merrimack, New Hampshire, Northeastern, Providence and Vermont as well as a non-conference match-up with the Rensselaer Engineers at the XL Center.

The Huskies open the season with a two-game weekend series on the road at Penn State on October 10th and 11th.  UConn will also face in-state rivals Quinnipiac and Sacred Heart as well as Army, Brown and Colorado College in non-conference match-ups.

UConn has a pair of in-season tournaments on their slate in the Liberty Hockey Invitational and the Frozen Holiday Classic.  The Liberty Hockey Invitational will be hosted by Princeton University at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey.  The event, in its second year, annually features the host Tigers and Yale University along with two teams from Hockey East.  This year's two-day event is scheduled for October 31st and November 1st with Princeton, Yale, Merrimack and the Huskies.

The Huskies head down to the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport as part of the first-ever Frozen Holiday Classic tournament on December 27th and 28th.  The four team field will feature the Huskies, Sacred Heart University, fellow Hockey East member UMass Lowell and defending national champion Union College.  UConn will play three other games at the Bridgeport arena in 2014-15, facing Quinnipiac, Colorado College and Notre Dame.

With the Huskies becoming the league’s 12th member this season, Hockey East announced earlier this spring they have approved an expansion to its playoff format.  The league's athletic directors voted to include all 12 institutions in the post-season tournament. On a second vote, the directors voted to utilize a "Best-of-Three" format in both the opening round of play as well as the quarterfinal round. Those rounds, played at campus sites, precede the Hockey East championship weekend that will again be hosted by the TD Garden in Boston next year.


The University of Connecticut will become the 12th member of Hockey East in 2014-15.  The historic league just celebrated its 30th anniversary season in 2013-14.  Over the past 30 years, Hockey East has cemented itself as the nation's elite college hockey league, having earned 38 berths in the NCAA Frozen Four and boasting eight NCAA title winners: the University of Maine in 1993 and 1999, Boston University in 1995 and 2009, Boston College in 2001, 2008, 2010 and 2012.

UConn joins Boston College, Boston University, the University of Maine, the University of Massachusetts, the University of Massachusetts Lowell, Merrimack College, the University of New Hampshire, Northeastern University, the University of Notre Dame, Providence College and the University of Vermont to round out the league's membership.