Skip to main content Skip to footer
Andre Blake Soccer America MVP First Team, Carlos Alvarez Second Team

Jan. 7, 2013

STORRS, Conn. - University of Connecticut duo of Carlos Alvarez (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Andre Blake (May Pen, Jamaica) were recently named Soccer America MVPs. Blake was placed on the Soccer America MVPs first team while Alvarez was second team. Connecticut has appeared in the NCAA Quarterfinals in each of the last two seasons.

Blake led UConn to a 17-4-1 record based on a 0.54 goals against average and a .840 save percentage. On the year, he recorded 11 shutouts, giving him 26 in 47 career games. The reining two-time BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year, Blake has earned a spot on the All-BIG EAST First Team in back-to-back seasons. His 0.54 goals against average ranked third in the nation.

In two years at UConn, Blake sits eighth all-time in wins (36), third in consecutive starts (47), second in lowest goals against average (0.46) and seventh in shutouts (26).

Alvarez was tabbed 2012 BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year and earned a spot on the All-BIG EAST First Team in his final year in Storrs. Alvarez led UConn to the 2009 and 2012 BIG EAST Regular Season Championship and finished his career third all-time at Connecticut with 42 assists. His 82 points placed him No. 14 all-time. As a senior, Alvarez notched seven goals and nine assists for 23 points. A two-time All-BIG EAST First Team selection, Alvarez was named 2009 BIG EAST Rookie of the Year.



MVPs First Team

G Andre Blake (Connecticut), Jr.
D Chad Barson (Akron), Sr.
F Ashton Bennett (Coastal Carolina), Sr.
M Scott Caldwell (Akron), Sr.
D Andrew Farrell (Louisville), Jr.
F Ryan Finley (Notre Dame), Sr.
M Jose Gomez (Creighton), Sr.
M Mikey Lopez (North Carolina), Soph.
F Patrick Mullins (Maryland), Jr.
F Steve Neumann (Georgetown), Jr.
F Eriq Zavaleta (Indiana), Soph.

MVPs Second Team

G Scott Goodwin (North Carolina), Sr.
M Carlos Alvarez (Connecticut), Sr.
M Connor Brandt (San Diego), Soph.
D Joe Franco (Cal State Northridge), Sr.
F Daniel Haber (Cornell), Jr.
M Jack McVey (Fairleigh Dickinson), Sr.
M Dillon Powers (Notre Dame), Sr.
D Andrew Ribeiro (Creighton), Sr.
F Devon Sandoval (New Mexico), Sr.
F Chris Thomas (Elon), Sr.
F Gyasi Zardes (CSU Bakersfield), Jr.
D Walker Zimmerman (Furman), Soph.