Skip to main content Skip to footer
Awuah and Nerwinski Invited to 2017 MLS Player Combine

The 2017 MLS SuperDraft will take place on Friday, Jan. 13.
Dec. 14, 2016

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Senior co-captains Kwame Awuah and Jake Nerwinski have been invited to the 2017 MLS Player Combine in Los Angeles on Jan. 8-12, as announced by Major League Soccer on Wednesday.

All 53 NCAA Division I players invited to the combine will be eligible for the 2017 SuperDraft, which will take place on Friday, Jan. 13 at the LA Convention Center.

Kwame Awuah (Toronto, Ont.) started in 82 of a possible 83 games in his Huskies career, contributing on both the offensive and defensive ends. In 2016, Awuah was selected to the American Conference First Team for the second consecutive year, contributing two goals and seven assists. His seven helpers ranked second in the conference. Awuah was honored in 2015 as the American Athletic Conference Co-Midfielder of the Year, after leading the conference with 12 assists. 

Jake Nerwinski (Lawrenceville, N.J.) was an All-Conference member for three seasons with the Huskies, including his First Team All-Conference selections the past two seasons. He was a two-time captain at UConn and contributed on both ends of the field. Defensively, Nerwinski was part of 34 shutouts, while also dishing out 17 assists in his Huskies career.

The Husky duo was a part of 43 wins with Connecticut, racking up four-straight 10 or more win seasons. In 2013, Awuah and Nerwinski helped the Huskies reach the NCAA National Quarterfinals for the third-consecutive year. In 2014, the Huskies won the American Athletic Conference regular season title, holding a 6-1-1 record in conference, it was a 13th conference regular season title the Huskies have claimed as a program.

The Huskies have had 34 players taken in the MLS draft since the league began in 1997. The Huskies made history in 2015 when Cyle Larin was picked No. 1 overall by Orlando City SC. With the selection, UConn became the first program to have back-to-back first overall picks after Andre Blake was selected with the first pick in 2014.