Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Stands Third After Day One of Conference Championships

Jeff Magin helped the Huskies place third in the 200-medley relay on Wednesday.
Feb. 18, 2016

Final Results

HOUSTON -- The University of Connecticut men's swimming and diving team wrapped up day one of the 2016 American Athletic Conference Championships at the CRWC Natatorium on Wednesday. The Huskies are currently in third place with 108 points behind East Carolina (128) and SMU (117).

Senior diver John Brice (Bala Cynwood, Pa.) and the UConn 200-medley relay team provided the highlights for the Huskies on the first day of competition.

Brice continued his strong senior campaign as he earned fourth place in the finals of the one-meter with a score of 287.30. SMU's Bryce Klein set a meet record on the board to win the competition (400.55), while UConn sophomores Jeffrey Aselin (Riverside, Conn.) and Daniel Kinney (Middletown, Conn.) also placed in the A-Final. Aselin was sixth with 281.45 points and Kinney totaled 257.05 for eighth.

On the swimming side, the Huskies completed the 200-medley relay in a time of 1:28.91 to come in third. Seniors Jeff Magin (Brookfield, Conn.), Greg Baliko (Fanwood, N.J.), Ryan Walsh (Monroe, N.Y.) and junior James Donlevy (Lake Grove, N.Y.) tallied 32 points with their finish. SMU recorded a time of 1:27.49 to win the race and East Carolina touched the wall second in 1:27.69.



Sophomores Kyle Kimura (Tampa, Fla.) and Daniel Krentsa (Brookfield, Conn.) swam the 800-freestyle relay alongside junior Chris Girg (Burbach, Germany) and senior Mike Lennon (Williston Park, N.Y.) for a fourth-place finish in 6:36.31. East Carolina won the event after swimming it in 6:27.91, and SMU (6:32.71) and Cincinnati (6:35.56) rounded out the top three.

"We had solid swims all the way around," head coach Bob Goldberg said. "It was a great way to start off the meet."

UConn is back in action in the conference meet tomorrow with the swimming preliminaries at 11 a.m. ET. The diving preliminaries are set for 1:30 p.m. ET and the finals will once again take place at 7 p.m. ET.