Skip to main content Skip to footer
Huskies Wrap Up Day Two of Conference Championships

James Donlevy took home a bronze medal in the 50-freestyle (20.19) on Thursday.
Feb. 18, 2016

Final Stats

HOUSTON – The University of Connecticut men’s swimming team saw a trio of top-three finishes during the finals of the second day of the American Athletic Conference Championships on Thursday at the CRWC Natatorium. The Huskies stand in fourth place halfway through the conference meet with 203 total points. East Carolina leads all schools with a score of 295.50, while SMU is second (278.50) and Cincinnati is third (212).

The Huskies had a great showing in the 200-IM, tallying two of the top four spots. Senior Greg Baliko (Fanwood, N.J.) touched the wall in 1:48.64 to take second after East Carolina’s Fran Krznaric won the event in 1:45.72. Rookie Matthew Dagenais (Middletown, Conn.) had a breakout swim, completing the race in 1:49.73 for a bronze medal, his first as a Husky.

Junior James Donlevy (Lake Grove, N.Y.) served as the lone representative for the Huskies in the 50-freestyle A-Final and did an outstanding job, taking third place in a time of 20.19, a NCAA “B” standard. SMU’s Ziga Cerkovnik was first (20.05) and East Carolina’s Shawn Hunter finished second (20.15).

In the 500-freestyle final, senior Chris Girg (Burbach, Germany) placed fourth (4:23.42), as he finished behind SMU’s Christian Scherubl, who won with a time of 4:18.72. UConn senior Mike Lennon (Williston Park, N.Y.) was fifth (4:24.85).

Donlvey teamed up with senior Jeff Magin (Brookfield, Conn.), sophomore Daniel Krentsa (Brookfield, Conn.) and freshman Luke Martin (Richmond, Va.) in the final event of the night, the 200-freestyle relay. The Huskies finished fourth with a time of 1:22.64, while SMU captured first place, swimming it in 1:19.90.



Day three of the American Athletic Conference Championships resumes on Friday morning at 11 a.m. ET with another round of swimming preliminaries. The diving preliminaries are scheduled for 1:30 p.m. and the finals will once again take place at 7 p.m.