Skip to main content Skip to footer
Huskies Sweep Crusaders in Men's Tennis on Monday

March 9, 2010

Results  | Results Get Acrobat Reader

ORLANDO, Fla. - The University of Connecticut men's tennis team made it two-in-a-row by a 7-0 margin with a decisive victory over Valparaiso on Monday. Four matches took three-sets to decide with the Huskies coming out on top in each. UConn suffered just one loss along the way in doubles, still securing the doubles point with wins at first and third.

Seniors Joe Goldstein (Tucson, Ariz.) and Tom Cook (Pittsford, N.Y.) battled through their third doubles match to win 9-7 while junior Andrew Marcus (Potomac, Md.) and sophomore Scott Warden (Boardman, Ohio) took the 8-4 win at No. 1.

With the doubles point in hand, the Huskies used the momentum of an early lead to propel themselves through four challenging three-set matches.

Kyle Stump tied it up with a second-set win at No. 1 before Marcus pulled away with a 6-1 win in the final to claim the overall victory. Sophomore Jai Yoon (Bayside, N.Y.) trailed early after his first-set loss before bouncing back to win the final two and take the win from his Crusader opponent.

Both the third and fourth singles matches went to three sets as well, with Warden and Goldstein also recovering from a first-set loss to take the win. Much like Yoon, both Huskies battled back in their respective matches. Warden defeated Adam Whitmer 7-5, 6-4 in the final two sets while Goldstein battled hard to come out on top in the final two sets, winning 7-6, 10-4.

Adams and Cook rounded out the UConn effort with wins at No. 5 and 6 to secure the Huskies' third-consecutive sweep of the trip. Adams won in straight 6-4 sets while Cook took down Kevin DeHerra, 6-1, 6-2.

The Huskies put their winning streak on the line against Northern Illinois in the final match of the spring break trip on Wednesday. UConn has the opportunity to even its spring record against NIU, entering the match with a 2-3 record thus far this spring. Overall, the Huskies are 5-4-1 on the year.