Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Club Holds Awards Ceremony

April 28, 2017

STORRS, Conn. - The UConn Club held its 64th Annual Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 26 at the Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts.

The event was attended by current student-athletes, Division of Athletics coaches and staff, University officials and members of The UConn Club.

To watch a replay of the event, CLICK HERE

The evening began with a reception and student-athletes had fun at several selfie stations. The program was held in the main auditorium of Jorgensen.

Former UConn women’s basketball standout Kara Wolters received the Red O’Neill Award while The A.J. Pappanikou Outstanding Contribution Award was presented to Dr. Richard and Ellen Cartun.

Honored as Outstanding Senior Scholar-Athletes were: Emily Armstrong (Collegeville, Pa.) of women’s soccer, Jessica Beer (Berwyn, Pa.) of women’s lacrosse, Kate Boudreau (Madison, Conn.) of rowing, Alvaro Chavez (West Windsor, N.J.) of men’s track and field, Amanda Craig (Woodbridge, Conn.) of women’s swimming and diving, Kayla Doty (Ghent, N.Y.) of softball, Shea Flanagan (Overland Park, Kans.) of women’s tennis, Parker Goldstein (Marietta, Ga.) of men’s tennis, Michelle Kalupski (Chicago, lll.) of women’s swimming and diving; Efthimia Kutrubis (Nowalk, Conn.) of field hockey, John Landis (Philadelphia, Pa.) of men’s track and field, Tierney Lawlor (Ansonia, Conn.) of women’s basketball; Lexi Lersch (Manhattan Beach, Ca.) of women’s ice hockey, Sean Marinan (Higgannum, Conn.) of football, Anna Middendorf (Bremen, Germany) of field hockey, Wyatt Million (Wrightstown, N.J.) of men’s track and field, Sophie Nothnagle (Victor, N.Y.) of women’s track and field, Arielle Sherman-Golembeski (Old Lyme, Conn.) of rowing, Maggie Tripodi (Syracuse, N.Y.) of women’s lacrosse and Justin Wain (Wilmington, N.C.) of football.

Honored as Outstanding Senior Athletes were: Emma Alderman (Hingham, Mass.) of women’s tennis, Chinedu Amonu (Ewing, N.J.) of men’s track and field; Taylor Anderson (Brooklyn Park, Minn.) of women’s track and field, Kwame Awuah (Toronto, Ont.) of men’s soccer, Olivia Bolles (Phoenixville, Pa.) of field hockey, Amida Brimah (Accra, Ghana) of men’s basketball, Alli Butera (Havertown, Pa.) of women’s swimming and diving, Joe DeRoche-Duffin (Santa Ana, Calif.) of baseball, Eric Dietrich (Cheshire, Conn.) of golf, Emily Durgin (Standish, Maine) of women’s track and field, Christopher Girg (Burbach, Germany) of men’s swimming and diving, Demario Gray (Bloomfield, Conn.) of men’s track and field, Rachel Hill (Rollinsford, N.H.) of women’s soccer, Obi Melifonwu (South Grafton, Mass.) of football, Jake Nerwinski (Lawrenceville, N.J.) of men’s soccer, Christine Pedersen (Vinterbro, Norway) of women’s swimming and diving, Rodney Purvis (Raleigh, N.C.) of men’s basketball, Stephanie Ribeiro (Pawtucket, R.I.) of women’s soccer and Noel Thomas, Jr. (Norwalk, Conn.) of football.

The Don Ruck Award is named for the founding father of The UConn Club and is presented to a student-athlete for outstanding work in the community. It is voted upon by the student-athletes themselves. This year’s winner was Mike O’Donnell (Metheun, Mass.) of men’s track and field while the other finalists were Shea Flanagan and Kelly Harris (Canton, Mich.) of women’s ice hockey.

The Donald Kinsman Award is given by the Student-Athlete Success Program to student-athletes who have demonstrated universal success during their time at UConn. This year’s winners were Anna Middendorf and Wyatt Million.

The Courage Award is given by SASP to student-athletes who have exhibited extraordinary strength in the face of incredible hardship. There were two winners this year – Rodney Purvis and Jalen Stevens (Goose Creek, S.C.) of football.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee also presented a number of their awards:

Female Athlete of the Year: Rachel Hill of women’s soccer. Other finalists: Anna Middendorf of field hockey and Shannon Nee of women’s lacrosse.

Male Athlete of the Year: Jake Nerwinski of men’s soccer. Other finalists: Anthony Kay of baseball and Tage Thompson of men’s ice hockey.

Female Rookie of the Year: Crystal Dangerfield of women’s basketball. Other finalists: Svea Boker of field hockey and Hannah Parker of women’s track and field/cross country.

Male Rookie of the Year: Tim Cate (Baseball). Other finalists: Adam Huska of men’s ice hockey and Will Kearsey, men’s swimming and diving.

Husky Cup, given to the team for the most outstanding community service. Men’s winner: Track and Field/Cross Country. Women’s winner: Rowing.