Skip to main content Skip to footer
Chris Dailey Honored As Finalist For Induction Into Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Jan. 11, 2018

STORRS, Conn. - UConn associate head women's basketball coach Chris Dailey has been selected as one of 10 finalists for induction into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, as announced on Thursday evening. 

Dailey has been head coach Geno Auriemma's top assistant for his entire 33-year tenure and the two have overseen the UConn women's basketball team's transformation into the most successful program in the history of the sport. 

Over the last 33 years, the Huskies have won a record 11 national championships with six of those crowns coming in undefeated fashion.  UConn has made 18 appearances in the NCAA Final Four, including the current streak of 10-straight, and Dailey has helped develop 14 players who have gone on to play in the Olympic Games. 

22 Huskies have earned a total of 41 First Team All-America selections and Connecticut has captured a total of 45 conference championships (23 regular season, 22 tournament) over the last 33 seasons. 

Dr. Rose Marie Battaglia: In 34 years of coaching at the collegiate level (Iona and Bergen, N.J., Community College), she recorded 702 victories and a .745 winning percentage. She had 274 more wins at the high school level.



Yelena Baranova: The former Russian star won an Olympic gold medal in 1992. She also won a gold medal in 1991 at the European Championships. She was a WNBA all-star in 2001.

Ceal Berry: She won 510 games in 26 seasons as a collegiate coach. She won 427 games in 22 seasons at Colorado and was named Big Eight coach of the year four times.

Mickie DeMoss: Her coaching career spanned more than 40 years. She served two stints as an assistant at Tennessee for a total of 20 years. During her tenure, the Lady Vols won six national championships.

Chamique Holdsclaw: She is Tennessee's all-time leading scorer (3,025 points) and rebounder (1,295). She won a gold medal with the U.S. Olympic team (2000) and was a six-time WNBA All-Star.

Vickie Orr: The former Auburn standout was a three-time All-American and the SEC player of the year in 1988. She ranks third in career scoring at Auburn (2,035 points).

Katie Smith: The former Big Ten Conference player of the year at Ohio State (1996) was a three-time Olympic Gold Medalist (2000, '04, '08) and won two WNBA Championships with Detroit.

Valerie Still: The two-time All-American is Kentucky's career leader for scoring (2,763 points) and rebounds (1,525). She won two ABL championships with Columbus (1997, '98)

Tina Thompson: The nine-time WNBA All-Star finished her career as the league's all-time leading scorer. She won four championships with the Houston Comets. As an Olympian, she won two gold medals (2004, '08).