Skip to main content Skip to footer
Three Huskies Named to Wooden Award Midseason Top 25

Jan. 12, 2017

STORRS, Conn. -- Three Huskies were named to the Wooden Midseason Top 25 list Wednesday, as announced by LA Athletic Club.

Junior Kia Nurse (Hamilton, Ont.) and sophomores Napheesa Collier (O'Fallon, Mo.) and Katie Lou Samuelson (Huntington Beach, Calif.) represented UConn on this year's list.

The trio has helped No. 1 UConn to a perfect 15-0 record this season, including a program-tying and NCAA record 90th-straight win. These three Huskies currently stand atop the UConn leaderboard, averaging the most points per game on the team.

The 2016-16 American Athletic Conference Preseason Player of the Year, Nurse has started in all 15 games for UConn and averages 13.6 points per game. She is second on the team in assists with 61 so far this season.

Collier and Samuelson, who are two of just four sophomores named to the midseason list, have also started in every game this season. Collier, who earned preseason All-Conference Second Team honors, currently leads the team, averaging 20.1 points this season. Samuelson grabbed a spot on the preseason All-Conference First Team and is currently second on the team in points and rebounds, averaging 19.3 and 7.5 respectively.

Former UConn standout Breanna Stewart received the Wooden Award the past two years. The Wooden Award was first given to a women's basketball player in 2003-04, when Duke's Alana Beard won. The award has since gone to a UConn player five times.

The Wooden Midseason Top 25 list:

G Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame



C/F Kristine Anigwe, California

C/F Jordin Canada, UCLA

G Alaina Coates, South Carolina

C Nia Coffey, Northwestern

F Napheesa Collier, Connecticut

F Nina Davis, Baylor

F Asia Durr, Louisville

G Makayla Epps, Kentucky

G Rebecca Greenwell, Duke

G Jessica January, DePaul

G Alexis Jones, Baylor

G Brionna Jones, Maryland

C Erica McCall, Stanford

F Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State

G Kia Nurse, Connecticut

G Alexis Peterson, Syracuse

G Kelsey Plum, Washington

G Leticia Romero, Florida State

G Katie Lou Samuelson, Connecticut

G/F Brianna Turner, Notre Dame

F Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State

G Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Maryland

G Sydney Wiese, Oregon State

G A'ja Wilson, South Carolina