Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bria Hartley Named to 2014 Lieberman Award Watch List

Bria Hartley

Jan. 15, 2014

STORRS, Conn. – University of Connecticut senior point guard Bria Hartley (North Babylon, N.Y.) has been identified by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame as a candidate for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award. The award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I College Basketball. The criteria for selection require that players demonstrate the floor leadership, play-making abilities, and ball-handling skills that Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman embodied in her career.

Since its inception in 2000, three Huskies have taken home the award a total of six times. UConn point guards earned the honors in the first five consecutive years of its existence, with Sue Bird earning it the first three years (2000-2002) and Diana Taurasi receiving the accolades in the subsequent two years after Bird (2003, 2004). Renee Montgomery was the last Husky to net the award in 2009.

Hartley has posted excellent numbers for the top-ranked Huskies this season and leads an offense that outscores opponents by an average of 36.7 points. The senior ranks second on the team in scoring, averaging 13.9 points per game, and has been dynamic in her passing game with 4.4 assists per game.

The New York native came alive in the second half of UConn’s game against No. 7 Baylor on Monday night, rattling off 13 of her 17 total points in the second frame to help secure the win. Hartley also demonstrated her defensive abilities in guarding fellow Lieberman candidate Odyssey Sims, helping to hold the nation’s top-scorer to just 4-of-25 from the field in her lowest scoring performance of the season.

Her success this season has translated to recognition on several levels, including league nods as the American Athletic Conference Player of the Week on Nov. 18 after a 29-point effort against Penn State to match her career-high. The conference also selected Hartley as a preseason All-Conference Honorable Mention choice, while her name has surfaced on the Wooden, Wade, and Naismith Awards Watch Lists so far this season. Hartley was a WBCA/State Farm All-American in her sophomore year and, more recently, an NCAA All-Tournament honoree following UConn’s ninth National Championship last season.

No. 1 UConn returns to action on Sunday, Jan. 19 when the squad travels to Rutgers for a 3:00pm American Athletic Conference showdown, with televised coverage on ESPN2 .

More information on the Nancy Lieberman Award can be found here.


2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List


Player Name                        School Name

Kacie Cassell                            University of Akron

Calli Berna                                University of Arkansas

Odyssey Sims                          Baylor University

Brittany                                     Boyd University of California

Bria Hartley                              University of Connecticut

Senee Shearer                           University of Detroit Mercy

Chelsea Gray                            Duke University

Jerica Coley                              Florida International University

Yashira Delgado                       Florida State University

Damika Martinez                        Iona College

Samantha Logic                        University of Iowa

Lexie Brown                              University of Maryland

Valencia McFarland                   University of Mississippi

Ashley Deary                            Northwestern University

Tiffany Bias                              Oklahoma State University

Fantasia Hilliard                         Sacramento State University

Keena Mays                              Southern Methodist University

Amber Orrange                          Stanford University

Natasha Cloud                          Saint Joseph’s University

Jamierra Faulkner                      University of Southern Mississippi

Ariel Massengale                       University of Tennessee

Jennifer Newsome                     University of Tennessee at Martin

Jordan Jones                            Texas A&M University

Andola Dortch                           University of Toledo

Joanna Harden                          Troy University

Jennifer Schlott                                     Utah State University

Chelsea Douglas                       Wake Forest University

Rebecca Henricson                   Western Illinois University

Dequesha McClanahan              Winthrop University


*This list is fluid – players can play their way onto and off of the Watch List and the Final 20*