Skip to main content Skip to footer
Napheesa Collier Announced as Top-10 Candidate for Katrina McClain Award

Feb. 1, 2018

Full Release

Junior Napheesa Collier was announced as a Top-10 candidate for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday afternoon.

Named after two-time All-American, 1987 National Player of the Year and 2012 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top power forwards in woman’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Collier, an O’Fallon, Missouri native, is posting team highs in rebounds and blocks with 7.9 and 38, respectively. The junior is chipping in 14.9 points per game and has posted double-digits in 17 of her 20 games played. Defensively, Collier has led the team in rebounding eight times and has forced 35 turnovers.

Collier is joined by Lauren Cox (Baylor), Kristine Anigwe (California), Camille Zimmerman (Columbia), Caliya Robinson (Georgia), Myisha Hines-Allen (Louisville), Stephanie Mavunga (Ohio State), Ruthy Hebard (Oregon), Bella Alarie (Princeton) and Maria Jespersen (South Florida). Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season.

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at



The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.