Skip to main content Skip to footer
Azura Stevens Added to 2018 "Wade Watch" List

Feb. 8, 2018

ATLANTA, Ga. – Junior Azura Stevens of the top-ranked University of Connecticut women’s basketball team was one of seven additional student-athletes added to the “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the 2018 Wade Trophy, as announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches association on Thursday afternoon.

Connecticut (23-0) now has five players on the 2018 “Wade Watch” list as Stevens joins teammates Kia Nurse, Gabby Williams, Napheesa Collier and Katie Lou Samuelson, who were named to the preseason Top-25 list in late November.

Newcomers rounding out the new 33-member watch list are Ariel Atkins (Texas), Loryn Goodwin (Oklahoma State), Ruthy Hebard (Oregon), Teaira McCowan (Mississippi State), Jaime Nared (Tennessee) and Tyler Scaife of Rutgers.

The Wade Trophy — now in its 41st year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.



The WBCA will announce the four finalists for the honor in mid-March. The winner of the 2018 Wade Trophy will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the 2018 NCAA® Women’s Final Four® national semifinal games on March 30.