Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn’s Ann Strother and Barbara Turner Named Naismith Midseason Candidates

STORRS, Conn. (February 21, 2005) — University of Connecticut juniors Ann Strother (Castle Rock, Colo.) and Barbara Turner (Cleveland, Ohio) have been named among the 30 midseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy, which is awarded annually to the national player of the year.

The Midseason Top-30 List was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors which is comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country.

The last three Naismith National Players of the Year have been University of Connecticut products as Diana Taurasi captured the honor in each of the previous two seasons (2003, 2004) and Sue Bird was recognized with the prestigious honor in 2002.

UConn’s first-ever Naismith Trophy winner was Rebecca Lobo, who was honored for her efforts during the Huskies’ 1995 National Championship season which saw the program finish a perfect 35-0.

Strother became the 26th player in UConn history to reach the 1,000-point milestone this year and currently ranks sixth on the program’s career 3-point list at 187. The sharp-shooting junior is averaging a team-high 13.0 points per game and has posted double-figure points in 15 of UConn’s 24 games this season. In addition, Strother has registered six games where she has scored at least 20 points.

Turner also became a member of UConn’s 1,000-point club this season and boasts averages of 10.5 points and 4.4 rebounds per game. She has notched double-figure points in 12 games this season and has notched two double-doubles.