Skip to main content Skip to footer
Williams Tabbed Finalist for Cheryl Miller Award

Feb. 28, 2018

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Senior Gabby Williams of the top-ranked UConn women’s basketball was named as one of five finalists for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Wednesday.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and 1995 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Williams is averaging 10.7 points per game while leading the Huskies with 7.7 rebounds per game. She also has a team-high 152 assists and 75 steals. The Sparks, Nev., native is a finalist for the 2018 Wooden Award and Naismith Trophy.

The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 2-23. The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

The other four finalists for the Cheryl Miller Aware are Shakayla Thomas (Florida State), Sophie Cunningham (Missouri), Jaime Nared (Tennessee) and Teana Muldrow (West Virginia).

Earlier this week, senior Kia Nurse was named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award (top point guard) while junior Katie Lou Samuelson was selected as a finalist for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (top shooting guard).