Skip to main content Skip to footer
Collier Named Finalist for Katrina McClain Award

March 1, 2018

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior Napheesa Collier of the top-ranked UConn women’s basketball team was selected as a finalist for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Thursday.

The annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

This season, Collier ranks second on the team with 15.5 points per game, 7.6 rebounds per game, 50 steals and 54 blocks. She was selected to the Naismith Trophy and Wooden Award late season watch lists.

The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 2-23.

The other finalists for the Katrina McClain Award are Lauren Cox (Baylor), Caliya Robinson (Georgia), Ayisha Hines-Allen (Louisville) and Ruthy Hebard (Oregon).

The Huskies have finalists for four of the major positional player of the year awards. Earlier this week, senior Kia Nurse was named a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award (top point guard) while junior Katie Lou Samuelson was selected as a finalist for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (top shooting guard) and senior Gabby Williams was tabbed a finalist for the Cheryl Miller Award (top small forward).