Skip to main content Skip to footer
Six Huskies Earn All-Conference Honors

March 2, 2018

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Six members of the top-ranked UConn women’s basketball team earned spots on the 2017-18 American Athletic Conference All-Conference teams, as announced by the league Friday.

Seniors Kia Nurse and Gabby Williams and juniors Napheesa Collier and Katie Lou Samuelson earned spots on the first team. Junior Azurá Stevens was named to the second team and sophomore Crystal Dangerfield was selected to the third team.

Nurse was also named the 2018 AAC Defensive Player of the Year. Stevens picked up the 2018 AAC Newcomer of the Year and Sixth Player of the Year honors.

Huskies have earned conference Defensive Player of the Year honors eight times. Nurse is the sixth straight UConn player to pick up the award (Gabby Williams, 2017; Moriah Jefferson, 2016; Kiah Stokes, 2015; Stefanie Dolson, 2014; Kelly Faris, 2013).

Stevens is the fourth Husky to earn Sixth Player honors and first since Williams in 2015. She is the first Newcomer of the Year for UConn.



Collier, Samuelson and Williams all earned first team all-conference honors for the second straight year while Nurse was second team selection last year. This is Stevens’ second all-conference honor after earning first team All-ACC in 2016.

The conference will announce its selections for Player, Coach, Freshman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year at 9 a.m. Saturday.