Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Trio Tabbed to Wooden Award National Ballot

March 3, 2018

LOS ANGELES – Three members of the top-ranked UConn women’s basketball team were chosen to the 2018 National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award, as announced by the Los Angeles Athletic Club Saturday. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the list is comprised of 15 student-athletes who are candidates for the Wooden Award All American Team and the Wooden Award Trophy as the most outstanding women’s college basketball player in the United States.

Senior Gabby Williams and juniors Napheesa Collier and Katie Lou Samuelson are on the National Ballot. UConn is one of two programs with multiple nominees and is the only program with three players on the list.

The trio have helped leads the Huskies to a 29-0 record entering the postseason. All three were selected to the American all-conference first team.

Williams is averaging 10.7 points per game while leading the Huskies with 7.7 rebounds per game. She also has a team-high 152 assists and 75 steals. The Sparks, Nev., native is a Naismith Trophy semifinalist as well as a finalist for the Cheryl Miller Award.

This season, Collier ranks second on the team with 15.5 points per game, 7.6 rebounds per game, 50 steals and 54 blocks. She was selected to the Naismith Trophy late season watch list. Collier is a finalist for the Katrina McClain Award.

The 2018 American Athletic Conference Player of the Year, Samuelson leads UConn's top-ranked offense with 18.3 points per game. She leads the nation with a 49.3 three-point field goal percentage. The Huntington Beach, Calif., native is also averaging 4.3 rebounds per game and has 92 assists and 33 steals. Samuelson is a finalist for the Ann Meyers Drysdale award and a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy.



The Wooden Award All-American team will be announced on March 28 during Elite Eight coverage. The John R. Wooden Award for most outstanding college basketball player will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards on April 6.