Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bria Hartley Nominated for James E. Sullivan Award

Bria Hartley has been nominated for the Sullivan Award.

March 11, 2014

STORRS, Conn. - University of Connecticut women’s basketball standout Bria Hartley has been selected as one of 19 nominees for the James E. Sullivan Award, which honors the nation’s outstanding amateur athlete, as announced by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) on Tuesday, March 11.  Cast your vote for Bria at!  

Tuesday marks the first day of voting to find the winner of the 2013 AAU Sullivan Award. Voting is open to the public and will account for one-third of the athlete’s overall score.

The nominees were nominated by someone who thought they fit the requirements of outstanding athletic ability, strong character, leadership and sportsmanship. The public can cast their vote by going to

Voting will remain open until March 23rd at 11:59 EDT.

Hartley, a 2011-12 WBCA/State Farm All-America Team selection, has been honored as a First Team All-Conference selection twice and has earned a spot on the All-Conference Tournament Team on two occasions.  The 2011 Conference Rookie of the Year, Hartley has been named to the NCAA Tournament All-Regional Team twice and was selected to the All-NCAA Tournament Team in 2013.  Earlier this season, she became only the second Husky all-time, along with Diana Taurasi and Maya Moore, to post at least 1,500-points, 500-rebounds and 500-assists.  This year has been her finest as she ranks in the league’s top-five in scoring, assists, steals, three-point field goal percentage and assist-to-turnover ratio. 



Three finalists will be named no later than March 28th and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11 at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, Fla.

The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930, and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include: Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow, Shawn Johnson and Missy Franklin.

Nominees for the 2013 James E. Sullivan Award

Ashley Bishop - Baton Twirling
Blake Bortles - University of Central Florida Football
David Boudia - USA Diving
Liz Brenner - Oregon Volleyball, Basketball, Track &Field
Rachel Fattal - USA Water Polo
Joy Woog-Garvey - Inline Hocke
Bria Hartley - University of Connecticut Women’s Basketball
Robert Herbst - AAU Powerlifting
Alex Johnson - University of Miami Volleyball
Katie Ledecky - Olympic Swimmer
Tre Mason - Auburn University Football
AJ McCarron - University of Alabama Football
Cory Ann McGee - University of Florida Track & Field
John Michael Nagel - Taekwondo 
Kelsey Robinson - University of Nebraska Volleyball
Jude Schimmel - University of Louisville Women’s Basketball
Shoni Schimmel - University of Louisville Women’s Basketball
John Urschel - Penn State Footbal
Alli Williams -Saint Francis University Women’s Basketball