Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Faces Oregon in NCAA Elite Eight

March 26, 2017

NCAA Tournament Central | Bracket | Game Notes | Press Conference Quotes

Practice Day Photo Gallery

BRIDGEPORT, Conn. – The No. 1 seeded and No. 1 ranked UConn women’s basketball team will face No. 10 seeded Oregon in the NCAA Elite Eight on Monday, March 27 at Webster Bank Arena.

Monday’s tipoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. and the game will be televised nationally on ESPN.

UConn (35-0) clinched its 12th-straight trip to the NCAA Elite Eight on Saturday after knocking off UCLA 86-71 down in Bridgeport. Sophomore Napheesa Collier (O’Fallon, Mo.) led the team with 27 points and 14 rebounds, both NCAA Tournament career-highs, for her 15th double-double of the season.

Senior Saniya Chong (Ossining, N.Y.) had an NCAA career-best performance against the Bruins, shooting 4-6 overall and 3-5 from three-point range for 16 total points.

Sophomore Katie Lou Samuelson (Huntington Beach, Calif.) currently has 116 three-point field goals this season after the NCAA Sweet Sixteen matchup against UCLA. She is just five shy of the UConn single-season record held by Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (121).



With a win on Monday, UConn head coach Geno Auriemma will break the record for the most NCAA Tournament wins in history with 113, surpassing Pat Summitt’s 112 NCAA Tournament victories. The Huskies enter Saturday’s game with 110-straight victories.

UConn is undefeated 2-0 in the all-time series with Oregon with the most recent meeting coming in November of 2013. On both occasions, the Huskies defeated the Ducks by over 40 points.

No. 10 seeded Oregon (23-13) advanced to the Elite Eight for the first time in program history after upsetting No. 3 seed and No. 4 ranked Maryland 77-63 in the Sweet Sixteen on Saturday. Prior to that, the Ducks upset the No. 7 seed Temple and No. 2 seed Duke in the First and Second Rounds.

Monday’s winner will advance to the Final Four in Dallas where it will meet the winner of the Oklahoma City region, Baylor vs. Mississippi State, on Friday, March 31.