Skip to main content Skip to footer
Hayes, Hartley and Mosqueda-Lewis Earn AP All-America Honors

Tiffany Hayes is a Third Team AP All-American

March 29, 2012

Buy Final Four Gear

STORRS, Conn. - Senior guard Tiffany Hayes has been honored as a 2011-12 Third Team All-American while sophomore Bria Hartley and freshman teammate Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis have earned Honorable Mention All-America recognition in a vote by the Associated Press.

Hayes is the 14th different Husky to be honored on either the AP First, Second or Third Team and a Husky has earned mention on one of the AP teams a total of 28 times.

2011-12 marks the first year UConn has not had a First Team pick since the 2006-07 season and this is the first year Connecticut has made the Final Four without a First Team selection since the 2000-01 campaign.

Hayes is second on the team at 14.9 points per game and was honored as the Kingston Regional Most Outstanding Player last week after averaging 16.5 points per game in a pair of wins. The Lakeland, Fla. native has been honored as a First Team All-BIG EAST pick in each of the last two seasons and she has now appeared in the Final Four four times. The only other Huskies to accomplish the Final Four four-peat are Diana Taurasi, Maria Conlon, Maya Moore and Lorin Dixon.

Hartley, a member of the preseason Wade and Wooden Award Watch Lists, has averaged 13.9 points, 3.9 rebounds and 3.7 assists during her sophomore campaign. Hartley was tabbed an All-BIG EAST First Team selection a year after being named the BIG EAST Rookie of the Year. She has also found a spot on the BIG EAST All-Tournament squad in each of the last two seasons.

Mosqueda-Lewis leads the team at 15.0 points per game and was honored as the 2011-12 BIG EAST Rookie of the Year. She also earned a spot on the All-BIG EAST Second Team and was honored as the 2012 BIG EAST Tournament Most Outstanding Player.



First Team
Brittney Griner - Baylor
Nnemkadi Ogwumike - Stanford
Skylar Diggins - Notre Dame
Elena Delle Donne - Delaware
Alyssa Thomas - Maryland

Second Team

Chiney Ogwumike - Stanford
Odyssey Sims - Baylor
Shenise Johnnson - Miami
Samantha Prahalis - Ohio State
Julie Wojta - Wisconsin-Green Bay

Third Team

Tiffany Hayes - Connecticut
A'dia Mathies - Kentucky
Elizabeth Williams - Duke
Shekinna Stricklen - Tennessee
Riquna Williams - Miami

Honorable Mention Courtney Clements, San Diego State; Jerica Coley, Florida International; Shante Evans, Hofstra; Angel Goodrich, Kansas; Chelsea Gray, Duke; Rachel Hackbarth, Drake; Bria Hartley, Connecticut; Tayler Hill, Ohio State; Jordan Hooper, Nebraska. Courtney Hurt, VCU; Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan; Glory Johnson, Tennessee; Maggie Lucas, Penn State; Anna Martin, DePaul; Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut; Natalie Novosel, Notre Dame; Devereaux Peters, Notre Dame. Michelle Plouffe, Utah; Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State; Niveen Rasheed, Princeton; Kristen Riley, BYU; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown; Kristina Santiago, Cal Poly; Kayla Standish, Gonzaga; Davellyn White, Arizona