Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bria Hartley Named to the WBCA/State Farm All-America Team

Bria Hartley named to the WBCA/State Farm All-America Team

March 31, 2012

Saturday Photo Gallery

Sunday's Game Notes

DENVER, Colo. - Sophomore guard Bria Hartley has been selected to the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association/State Farm All-America Team as announced by the WBCA on Saturday, March 31.  Hartley is the 15th Husky to be honored on the WBCA State Farm All-America squad and Connecticut now has 25 selections all-time.

Hartley is only the fourth UConn sophomore to be named to the team along with Svetlana Abrosimova (1998-99), Diana Taurasi (2001-02) and Maya Moore (2008-09).  Moore was also selected to the team during her freshman campaign.

Hartley, a member of the preseason Wade and Wooden Award Watch Lists, has averaged 13.9 points, 3.9 rebounds and 3.7 assists during her sophomore campaign.  She was tabbed an All-BIG EAST First Team selection a year after being named the BIG EAST Rookie of the Year.  She has also earned a spot on the BIG EAST All-Tournament squad in each of the last two seasons.

Connecticut has had a representative on the State Farm All-America in each season since 2007-08.

Joining Hartley on the prestigious squad are Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Brittney Griner (Baylor), Glory Johnson (Tennessee), Shenise Johnson (Miami), Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford), Nneka Ogwumike (Stanford), Odyssey Sims (Baylor) and Alyssa Thomas (Maryland).

Below is a list of former Huskies on the squad.

Hartley and the Huskies will square-off against No. 4 Notre Dame with the winner earning a spot in the National Championship game.  Tip is set for 6:36 EDT.

State Farm/Kodak All-America First Team

Bria Hartley                    2011-12

Maya Moore                   2010-11
Tina Charles                  2009-10
Maya Moore                   2009-10

Tina Charles                  2008-09
Renee Montgomery        2008-09
Maya Moore                   2008-09

Renee Montgomery        2007-08
Maya Moore                   2007-08

Diana Taurasi                2003-04

Diana Taurasi                2002-03

Sue Bird                        2001-02
Swin Cash                     2001-02
Diana Taurasi                2001-02

Svetlana Abrosimova      2000-01

Svetlana Abrosimova      1999-00
Shea Ralph                    1999-00

Svetlana Abrosimova      1998-99

Nykesha Sales               1997-98

Nykesha Sales               1996-97
Kara Wolters                  1996-97

Jennifer Rizzotti              1995-96

Rebecca Lobo                1994-95
Jennifer Rizzotti              1994-95

Rebecca Lobo                1993-94

Kerry Bascom                1990-91