Skip to main content Skip to footer
Williams Named 2018 Cheryl Miller Award Winner

March 31, 2018

COLUMBUS, Ohio – UConn women’s basketball senior Gabby Williams was named the first-ever Cheryl Miller Award winner, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. Williams accepted the award from Cheryl Miller Saturday.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and 1995 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

The Miller Award is part of the Hall of Fame and WBCA’s Naismith Starting Five, which includes the Nancy Lieberman Award, Lisa Leslie Award, Ann Meyers Drysdale Award and Katrina McClain Award.

Williams finished her career as a Husky as a two-time NCAA champion, an eight-time conference champion and a two-time WBCA All-American. The Sparks, Nev., native has more than 1,500 career points, 1,000 career rebounds, 300 steals and 400 assists.

This season, Williams averaged 11.2 points per game and 7.4 rebounds per game while leading the team with 191 assists and 87 steals. She was also tabbed a 2018 AP and USBWA Second Team All-American.