Skip to main content Skip to footer
Moore Earns 2009 State Farm Wade Trophy

April 4, 2009

Photo Gallery | Maya Moore - Award Presentation

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - University of Connecticut sophomore Maya Moore has been named the 2009 State Farm Wade Trophy winner, which is awarded annually to the National Player of the Year during The State Farm Coaches' All-America Team presentation on Saturday morning in St. Louis, Mo.

Moore joined teammates Renee Montgomery and Tina Charles on the 2009 State Farm Coaches' All-America Basketball Team, marking just the third time in history that one program has had three honorees on the squad. The two other times in which the feat occurred were in 2002 with UConn and in 1999 with Tenneesee.

Both Moore and Montgomery were given the All-America status for the second straight year, while Charles picks up the honor for the first time in her three-year career.

Moore becomes just the second sophomore ever to win the award, joining Candace Parker (Tennessee) who won in 2007. Moore, who was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Trenton Regional, tallied a combined 47 points and 14 rebounds in victories over Arizona State and California. In the UConn victory over the No.6 seed Sun Devils, Moore became the UConn single-season scoring leader and now boasts 712 points in 2009.

Named the 2009 BIG EAST Player of the Year and an All-BIG EAST First Team unanimous selection, Moore averaged 21.0 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.0 steals and 2.3 blocks, while shooting 62.5 percent from the field en route to also being named BIG EAST Tournament Most Outstanding Player. This season Moore has tallied 20-plus points 15 times, registered 16 double-doubles and posted double-figure points 36 times, including her current streak of nine.

Moore became the fastest player in Huskies history to reach the 1,000-point milestone, doing so in her 55th career game with 40 points vs. Syracuse on Jan. 17, 2009. Moore currently ranks 20th among UConn's career scoring leaders with 1,390 points. Moore set the UConn and BIG EAST single-game records with 10 three-point field goals made vs. Syracuse on Jan. 17. She was named BIG EAST Player of the Week following this performance.

The sophomore has also been recognized for her achievements in the classroom as she was named an ESPN/CoSIDA First Team Academic All-American this season.

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Past UConn winners of the Wade Trophy include Diana Taurasi (2003), Sue Bird (2002), Jen Rizzotti (1996) and Rebecca Lobo (1995).