Skip to main content Skip to footer
Samuelson Named Honda Award Nominee

April 4, 2018

LOS ANGELES – UConn women’s basketball junior Katie Lou Samuelson was selected as a nominee for the Class of 2018 Honda Sport Award for Basketball, as announced by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Wednesday.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 42 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2018 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on CBS Sports Network on Monday, June 25, 2018, in downtown Los, Angeles.

This season, Samuelson led UConn’s top-ranked offense with 17.4 points per game. She led the nation in three-point field goal percentage (47.5). The Huntington Beach, Calif., native was named a WBCA, USBWA and AP First Team All-American. Samuelson is a two-time American Athletic Conference Player of the Year and was a finalist for the Wooden Award, Wade Trophy and Naismith Trophy this year.

The Huskies have had 11 Honda Sports Award winners: Breanna Stewart (2014, ’15, ’16), Maya Moore (2010, ’11), Renee Montgomery (2009), Diana Taurasi (2003), Sue Bird (2002), Shea Ralph (2000), Jennifer Rizzotti (1996) and Rebecca Lobo (1995).



The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). The Honda Sport award winner for Basketball will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote. 

Other finalists for the Honda Award this year are Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon), Kelsey Mitchell (Ohio State) and A’ja Wilson (South Carolina).