Skip to main content Skip to footer
Breanna Stewart Wins 2016 John R. Wooden Award

Breanna Stewart led the Huskies to their record fourth-straight national championship on Tuesday.
April 8, 2016

STORRS, Conn - Senior forward Breanna Stewart completed her second-straight sweep of the national player of the year awards when she was honored as the winner of the 2016 John R. Wooden Award as announced by the LA Athletic Club as part of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on Friday night.

2016 marks the second time Stewart has won the Wooden Award and she is a three-time winner of the Naismith Trophy (Atlanta Tip-Off Club), Associated Press Player of the Year Award and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (USBWA).  The North Syracuse, N.Y. native has also won the Wade Trophy (WBCA) in each of the last two season.

Classmate Moriah Jefferson was a finalist for the Wooden Award and was selected as a Wooden All-American along with Minnesota senior Rachel Banham, Ohio State sophomore Kelsey Mitchell and South Carolina sophomore A'ja Wilson. 

Stewart, who also won the Senior CLASS Award in 2016, finished her career as UConn's all-time leader with 414 career blocked shots and is second on the Huskies' all-time scoring list with 2,676 points.

On Dec. 9 Stewart became the only player in NCAA history to reach 300 career blocks and 300 career assists. She is also the seventh NCAA Division I women's player with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, 200 assists, 200 steals and 200 blocks.  She became the first player in NCAA history to be selected as the Final Four MOP four times.  No other player has earned more than two Final Four MOP honors. 



Along with Jefferson and Morgan Tuck, Stewart led the Huskies to four-straight national championships, six conference championships and a record 151 wins over the last four seasons.  The trio led the Huskies to their record ninth-straight Final Four in 2015-16 and propelled UConn to 24-straight NCAA Tournament wins, surpassing the previous record of 21-consecutive NCAA Tournament victories which was held by Tennessee since 1999.