Skip to main content Skip to footer
Breanna Stewart Wins 2016 Sullivan Award

Breanna Stewart is the first Husky to win the Sullivan Award.
April 10, 2016

STORRS, Conn. - After making history by leading the University of Connecticut women's basketball team to its fourth-straight national championship, senior forward Breanna Stewart (North Syracuse, N.Y.) was tabbed as the winner of the 86th annual AAU James E. Sullivan Award, the organization announced by the Amateur Athletic Union on Sunday.

Stewart shared the award with Navy football's Kennan Reynolds.

Stewart is only the fourth women's basketball player to win the Sullivan Award, joining Kelly and Coco Miller (1999) and Chamique Holdsclaw (1998).

Stewart attended Sunday afternoon's victory parade though downtown Hartford and was unable to attend the Sullivan Award ceremony in New York City. Representatives from the AAU will travel to Storrs on Monday night to present Stewart with the prestigious honor during the Huskies' Celebrate the Season event at the Werth Family UConn Basketball Champions Center.

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Representatives from the AAU created the Sullivan Award with the intent to recognize amateur contributions and achievements from non-professional athletes across the country.

World renowned golfer Robert "Bobby" Jones received the inaugural award in 1930 and swimmer Anne Curtis became the first female to accept the award in 1944. Mark Spitz (1971), Bill Walton (1973), Carl Lewis (1981), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1986), Peyton Manning (1997) and Michael Phelps (2003) have also earned the prestigious honor.



Stewart swept the 2016 national player of the year honors and is a two-time winner of the Wooden Award. She is also a three-time winner of the Naismith Trophy (Atlanta Tip-Off Club), Associated Press Player of the Year Award and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (USBWA). The North Syracuse, N.Y. native has also won the Wade Trophy (WBCA) in each of the last two season.

Stewart, who also won the Senior CLASS Award in 2016, finished her career as UConn's all-time leader with 414 career blocked shots and is second on the Huskies' all-time scoring list with 2,676 points.

On Dec. 9 Stewart became the only player in NCAA history to reach 300 career blocks and 300 career assists. She is also the seventh NCAA Division I women's player with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, 200 assists, 200 steals and 200 blocks. She became the first player in NCAA history to be selected as the Final Four Most Outstanding Player four times. No other player has earned more than two Final Four MOP honors.

Along with classmate Moriah Jefferson (Glenn Heights, Texas) and Morgan Tuck (Bolingbrook, Ill.), Stewart led the Huskies to four-straight national championships, six conference championships and a record 151 wins over the last four seasons. The trio led the Huskies to their record ninth-straight Final Four in 2015-16 and propelled UConn to 24-straight NCAA Tournament wins, surpassing the previous record of 21-consecutive NCAA Tournament victories which was held by Tennessee since 1999.