Skip to main content Skip to footer
Seven Huskies Invited to USA Basketball Camp Women's National Team Camp

April 16, 2018

USA Basketball Release

Seven current and former members of the Connecticut women's basketball team will participate in the USA Women's National Team's April 24-26 camp in Seattle.

On the 19-player roster from UConn are Sue Bird, Napheesa Collier, Stefanie Dolson, Tiffany Hayes, Breanna Stewart, Diana Taurasi and Morgan Tuck. Former Husky Jennifer Rizzotti serves as an assistant coach for Team USA.

The Seattle training camp marks the third in the USA's preparations for the 2018 FIBA World Cup, which will be held Sept. 22-30 in Tenerife, Spain.

The USA will train April 24 and 25 at Seattle Pacific University. The three-day camp will culminate with an exhibition contest against the China National Team on April 26 in Seattle's KeyArena. The final USA roster for the exhibition will be announced on April 25.



Bird leads the training camp roster with four Olympic gold medals, three World Cup golds and one World Cup bronze. Taurasi also owns four Olympic golds, two World Cup gold medals and one World Cup bronze. Stewart won gold at the 2014 World Cup and 2016 Olympics.

USA Basketball Women's National Team
Members of the USA Basketball Women's National Team will compete in the 2018 FIBA World Cup and, if the USA qualifies, the 2020 Summer Olympic Games (July 24-Aug. 9 in Tokyo), as well as additional USA training camps and exhibition games.

The U.S. and head coach Dawn Staley first will look to capture the title at the 2018 FIBA Women's World Cup of Basketball, with an automatic berth to the 2020 Olympic Games being awarded to the gold medalist. Should the U.S. not finish with the gold medal in 2018, it would have two additional opportunities to qualify for the Olympics: the 2019 FIBA AmeriCup (dates and site TBD) and the 2020 FIBA World Olympic Qualifying Tournament (dates and site TBD).

2018 FIBA World Cup
Winners of back-to-back World Cup titles and four of the past five FIBA World Cups, the USA owns a record nine gold medals, one silver medal and two bronze medals in FIBA World Cup play, while compiling an all-time, 103-21 record at the event. In 2014, the most recent World Cup, the U.S. took the gold medal, while Spain captured silver and Australia won bronze. 

The USA will compete in preliminary round Group D and will play Senegal on Sept. 22, China on Sept. 23 and Latvia on Sept. 25.

Group A includes Canada, France, Greece and South Korea; Group B is comprised of Argentina, Australia, Nigeria and Turkey; while Group C features Belgium, Japan, Puerto Rico and Spain.

Following the preliminary round, teams will be seeded, and the top team from each group will earn an automatic berth to the quarterfinals, while the No. 2 and No. 3 teams from each group will advance to the Sept. 26 quarterfinals play-in round. From there, winners will compete in the Sept. 28-30 medal round.